Unable to connect to 5500pc

Discussion in 'C-Bus Toolkit and C-Gate Software' started by bart, Nov 29, 2008.

1. bart

bart

Hi guys,

I am new to c-bus and have just had my first units installed.

I have 1 12 channel voltage free relay, 2 4 channel pro dimmers and a 4 channel dimmer.

I also have 7 neo 8 gang switches and a 5500pc interface.

The electrision wired everything up yesterday. So far I can switch the loads on and off using the buttons on the two pro dimmers and the relay module. My switches show the orange lights when i press buttons.

The pc interface has the two lights unit and network solid orange, from what I have read this indicates that there is a clock signal at least.

So my next thing to try was to connect to the pc interface with the c-bus toolkit.

I have tried from several different computers using the supplied db9 cable, both builtin comm ports and a usb dongle.

The toolkit doesn't appear to see the pc interface, it keeps telling me that it failed to find a project or similar (I don't have it connected right now sorry). I have tried scanning the network, searching for the correct serial port etc although there wasn't really any doubt which port it was connected to.

So I guess my initial questions are:
    Does the fact that the pc interface has two solid orange lights mean that the network is correctly connected?
    Is there anything obvious that I'm missing?

The units are not yet addressed and I was hoping to use the unravel feature to address them correctly using the pc interface.
    I did try to use learn mode to program a basic connection between the input and output units but although learn mode appears to work e.g. after 10 secs the load activates and i then pressed the input button after selecting the load on the output unit and then held a button down for two seconds on the output unit there is no connection made. I had thought this may have been because all the addresses on the units were not set correctly.