Toolkit --> CGate: SSH Tunnels?

Discussion in 'C-Bus Toolkit and C-Gate Software' started by Andy@Mandoon, Jan 31, 2005.

1. Andy@Mandoon

Andy@Mandoon

Hi,

I have been trying to convince the latest Toolkit beta to connect to CGate remotely via SSH tunnels.

I have been setting up SSH tunnels for ports 20023, 20024, 20025 and 20026. This works whilst I am on the same network, but fails soon as I go remote. I get a "timeout" error from the toolkit. The ports were tested using telnet, so the tunnel has been successfully setup but Toolkit doesn't want to play.

Duncan, do you have any hints on which ports need forwarding?
    Has anybody else tried this?
    Without doing a full VPN, how do other people securely access network connected installations?

Many thanks,
    Andy.

PS. Even within a trusted site this is a very useful way to ensure nobody can "accidently" access CGate.

Andy@Mandoon, Jan 31, 2005
  2. Andy@Mandoon

JackD

Is C-Gate set up to accept a remote connection?

I'm just guessing here but this *may* have nothing whatever to do with secure sockets. Do you have C-Gate set up to accept connections from a remote user? Check out this tutorial and follow the recommendations. http://www.cbusforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=628 Then try to connect with normal connections first. If all that works then try the secure sockets.

JackD, Jan 31, 2005
  3. Andy@Mandoon

Richo

Hi Andy,

The reason it doesn't work for Toolkit is toolkit uses the C-GAte secure SSL port 20123.

From the C-Gate Configuration File.

#### secure.port-base:
    # Base port number for SSL secured ports
    # Default Value: 20123
    # Scope: global
    # Effective on: restart
    ###
    secure.port-base=20123

So all COMMAND communications use SSL encryption. Toolkit also connects to the event and load change ports, but these are read only anyway and don't propose a control security risk.

We haven't done any SSH tunnelling tests, but for Toolkit this is largely unnecessary.