Problems opening project

Discussion in 'C-Bus Toolkit and C-Gate Software' started by Donald, Apr 26, 2006.

1. Donald

Donald

Hi all

I'm new to all this stuff as i have bought a house with an early genertaion C-BUS system installed. I want to move some switches around to create a two way switched lighting circuit as well as removing some lighting from the C-BUS system.
    I have recently purhased an RS232 to USB adaptor from Dontronics as i have read that this is the only one that works reliably with the C-BUS system. The problem i am having is that i cannot open the project. When i do a system scan it cannot identify any project name and does not give me the option of openeing the file.
    Is there some way that i can download the project onto my PC without doing a scan?. And will the new C-BUSToolkit software work with the old generation PCI?
    As i said, this is all new to me, and any help would be appreciated.

Donald, Apr 26, 2006
  2. Donald

Duncan

Hi Donald,

Some very old PCI's are not supported.

Potentially what has happened is that Toolkit has recognised that a PCI can be seen, its then crossed over the PCI into the Network beyond in an attempt to find the name of the "project" on that Network. It failed to find a project name, thus the "Failed Identify" message. We're reworking this at the moment so that it offers to create a new project.. In the meantime.. you could:

Create a New Project in Toolkit by selecting "Add Project" from the Projects menu.. name your new project.. then when Toolkit offers to add a Network to this new Project answer "Yes" and create a Serial Network on COM1 (or whatever COM port your PCI is connected to). Once Toolkit has created this Network press the "Open Network" button.. hopefully you'll see the Network go to "Open".. then select the "Units" node on the Treeview and hit the Scan button in the bottom half of the screen.

Duncan, Apr 26, 2006
  3. Donald

Donald

Thanks Duncan