Potential LED Dimming solution. Dali Gateway>Dali input LED Power Supply?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MarkB, Feb 2, 2019.

1. MarkB

MarkB

As a total newbie considering a C-Bus system for a new house build, I'm concerned about comments regarding the C-Bus dimming units and compatibility with various LED lights. I'm specifically considering the use of strip lighting.

There are a number of Dali controllable PWM power supplies that seem to do a good job of dimming LED's over a wide range. For example:

https://www.power-supplies-australia.com.au/MEAN-WELL-PWM-120-24DA

Thoughts? Any experience regarding the reliability of the DALI gateway and DALI networks in general?

EDIT: Further investigation suggests that DMX is the way to go to control LED strip lights?

Last edited: Feb 2, 2019
    MarkB, Feb 2, 2019
  2. MarkB

Ashley

For led strip lights with cbus, dmx is the way to go if you want an off the shelf solution. And you can do it all yourself as it is extra low voltage.

Alternatively hook a cbus interface to a raspberry pi and do a bit of programming. Then you can use the individually controllable ws2812 strips which are much more fun :)

Ashley, Feb 2, 2019
    MarkB likes this.
  3. MarkB

NickD Moderator

There's nothing wrong with using DALI for this, and the C-Bus DALI gateway is perfectly reliable, but the trouble with DALI is that you need another (usually DIN rail mounting) 240V power supply for DALI, and you need to treat the DALI wires as mains as it's not SELV. It's probably also more expensive.

As Ashley says, DMX is probably easier.

Other options are Philips Hue (which can be controlled from the SHAC) if you have the hue bridge, or a phase control LED driver like this https://haneco.com.au/led-lighting/dimmers-drivers-smart-controls/flexion-drivers/

NickD, Feb 2, 2019
    MarkB likes this.
  4. MarkB

Dave_F

If using the DMX solution, do you need 1 per switched light zone? If so, it would be an expensive way of doing it.