Help with Group Addresses

Discussion in 'C-Bus Toolkit and C-Gate Software' started by Trannie, Aug 23, 2006.

1. Trannie

Trannie

Hello All,

I'm new to this, and am a little confused with group addresses.

1. I know how to add a group address, but how does the system know what the group address controls? I have a bunch of lights/devices that haven't been given a group, so thus, i cannot turn it on or off.

2. I connected to the colour touchscreen and for some reason, the tags that i gave to the group address have disappeared and have reverted back to the numbers that were initially given. Is there a way to change this back?

Thanks!
    Chris

Trannie, Aug 23, 2006
  2. Trannie

lcrowhurst

Hi Chris

You assign the group address
    1) to an (or more than one) output (eg relay, Dimmer chanel)
    2) to an (or more than one) input (eg button) as well a the function you want it to peform (on/off, timer etc)

As the button and the output have the same address the button control the output

With you touch screen are you connecting to the same project as the one you setup in toolkit - the Cus modules only home a group address not the name you assign to them.

lcrowhurst, Aug 23, 2006
  3. Trannie

Trannie

Thanks for that Laurence.

Ok, lets take this example. Tell me if i'm doing this wrong. To create a group address for say, the lights on the back verandah. I go to:
    1. C-Bus Toolkit
    2. Then drill down to Project/Network/Applications/Lighting
    3. Click on 'Add Group'
    4. I leave 'Group Address' and modify the description to 'Back verandah lights'

Where do I assign the group address to the output? Is there a link somewhere on how to do this?

Chris

Trannie, Aug 24, 2006
  4. Trannie

Duncan

Hi Trannie ( :) )

Here's a screenshot of a Group Address thats been programmed into an Input Unit, AND an Output Unit..