C-Gate V2.11.5 fails to connect to PCINT4 RS-232 CNI

Discussion in 'C-Bus Toolkit and C-Gate Software' started by SimonHopkins, Mar 8, 2021.

  1. SimonHopkins

    SimonHopkins

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Whitby, UK
    Since moving to Toolkit V1.15.7 Build 2473, with C-Gate V2.11.5 Build 3260 I am unable to access my PCINT4 FW 4.4.00 unit, Toolgate reports that the "PCI Failed to reset". If I use a much earlier version of Toolkit and C-Gate I have no issues. Using the C-Bus Diagnostic too, again no issues.
    A Serial Port Monitor sees the traffic, but it seems to have additional noise coming from the network, not present using Diognosti Tool.
    I wonder if the COM port (a real physical serial port) is being opened at either wrong baud rate or parity.
    Has anyone else seen this or am I the only one.

    I do have two USB interfaces available, so not a disaster, but I don't want to be beaten :)

    Thank you

    Simon
     
    SimonHopkins, Mar 8, 2021
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. SimonHopkins

    Exsparky

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Simon
    I am having the same problem. Any idea which older version of Toolkit is required to see the unit properly?
    Regards
    Glenn
     
    Exsparky, Mar 16, 2021
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. SimonHopkins

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Hello Simon
    I had a look at this in case there might be a CBus Toolkit software issue.
    What is the PC interface type?
    CNI, RS232?
    PCINT4 does not describe the unit type.

    To clarify are your USB PCI's working with the latest Toolkit?
     
    DarylMc, Mar 16, 2021
    #3
  4. SimonHopkins

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Sorry I missed RS232 in the title.
    I don't have a similar unit to test.
    Did you notice you can select the firmware version while editing the unit in CBus Toolkit?
     
    DarylMc, Mar 16, 2021
    #4
  5. SimonHopkins

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I'm currently running toolkit 1.15.7 into a serial PCI V4.4 and it works fine on a 3 network system with over 100 units, so it's something specific to your system. All I can suggest is try a clean reinstall of toolkit, or try it on a different PC.
     
    Ashley, Mar 17, 2021
    #5
  6. SimonHopkins

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    "Did you notice you can select the firmware version while editing the unit in CBus Toolkit?"
    Sorry that was probably a bit unhelpful and confusing.
    You can select firmware when adding a unit to the project manually but you cannot select the firmware by editing.
     
    DarylMc, Mar 17, 2021
    #6
  7. SimonHopkins

    SimonHopkins

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Whitby, UK
    Thank you for the replies. The unit is at FW V4.4.00 and previously worked with Toolkit and C-Gate until I upgraded to the latest version, 1.15.7 and C-Gate v2.11.5 (build 3260). I will, when I have a moment, revert until I find the working combination. As I mentioned, I am fortunate that I have a USB connection via the PACA that allows me to run my network.
    Simon
     
    SimonHopkins, Mar 17, 2021
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.