C-Gate Server Exception

Discussion in 'C-Bus Toolkit and C-Gate Software' started by DarylMc, Jan 4, 2024.

  1. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cleveland, QLD, Australia
    `-***- C-Gate Server Exception -***-
    Version: v3.2.0 (build 1674)
    Time: Thu Jan 04 11:50:20 AEST 2024
    Thread: Thread[Thread-3,4,CGateThreadGroup]
    Group: CGateThreadGroup
    Exception: java.lang.ClassCastException: com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.dev.CBusDinProTerminal cannot be cast to com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.dev.CBusUniversalTerminal
    Stack Details Below:
    java.lang.ClassCastException: com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.dev.CBusDinProTerminal cannot be cast to com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.dev.CBusUniversalTerminal
    at com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.dev.CBusUniversalDimmer.t(ProGuard:106)
    at com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.dev.CBusUniversalDimmer.o(ProGuard:90)
    at com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.core.CBusUnit.l(ProGuard:797)
    at com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.core.CBusUnit.k(ProGuard:778)
    at com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.core.CBusUnit.q(ProGuard:875)
    at mO.a(ProGuard:1412)
    at mO.d(ProGuard:29331)
    at mN.run(ProGuard:1114)
    -------------`
     
    DarylMc, Jan 4, 2024
    #1
  2. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cleveland, QLD, Australia
    Is this a problem?
    Running CGate 3.2 on raspberry pi 64bit
     
    DarylMc, Jan 4, 2024
    #2
  3. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cleveland, QLD, Australia
    The problem I am having is when CGate opens it remains stuck in sync.
    If I manually force a sync it completes the sync ok .
     
    DarylMc, Jan 4, 2024
    #3
  4. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cleveland, QLD, Australia
    I'm using a Clipsal USB PCI and ser2sock
     
    DarylMc, Jan 4, 2024
    #4
  5. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cleveland, QLD, Australia
    I see there is a newer version 3.2.2
    Will give that a go.
     
    DarylMc, Jan 4, 2024
    #5
  6. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cleveland, QLD, Australia
    Tried remote CGate 3.2.2 on raspberry pi 64 bit OS same exception as above and project stuck on sync after starting CGate.
    Manually syncs fine with "net sync 254"
    Tried CGate 3.2.0 with CBus Toolkit 1.17.0 on Windows 11 VM Parallels M1 MacBookPro, connected to local CGate then TCP to PI ser2sock with same result.
    Didn't know that was possible till I tried.
    Also manually synced fine.
    Assuming no one is having problems on amd64 systems I think it might be an arm issue or ser2sock USB-PCI problem.
    Next step for me will be to try run Toolkit and CGate from my x86/64 box.
    Any thoughts appreciated.
     
    DarylMc, Jan 5, 2024
    #6
  7. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cleveland, QLD, Australia
    Local CGate synced automatically after startup from Windows x86-amd64 machine.
    Any thoughts or information about running CGate 3.2 on the arm64 platform appreciated.
     
    DarylMc, Jan 5, 2024
    #7
  8. DarylMc

    glen_m

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NZ
    Hi Daryl -
    I'm pretty sure it's not a problem with your ARM64 platform. I am having the same problem on the amd64 platform too. I don't use sock2ser anymore, I use TCP (network) based serial devices, so probably rules out sock2ser as well.

    Platform:
    • Ubuntu 23.10 (Server)
    • OpenJDK Runtime Environment (Zulu 8.52.0.23-CA-linux64) (build 1.8.0_282-b08)
    I have had to downgrade back to cGate v2.11.10
    The exception I get is:

    Code:
    -***- C-Gate Server Exception -***-
    Version:   v3.2.2 (build 1716)
    Time:      Thu Jan 25 17:22:58 NZDT 2024
    Thread:    Thread[Thread-3,4,CGateThreadGroup]
    Group:     CGateThreadGroup
    Exception: java.lang.ClassCastException: com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.dev.CBusDinProTerminal cannot be cast to com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.dev.CBusUniversalTerminal
    Stack Details Below:
    java.lang.ClassCastException: com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.dev.CBusDinProTerminal cannot be cast to com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.dev.CBusUniversalTerminal
        at com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.dev.CBusUniversalDimmer.t(ProGuard:106)
        at com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.dev.CBusUniversalDimmer.o(ProGuard:90)
        at com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.core.CBusUnit.l(ProGuard:797)
        at com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.core.CBusUnit.k(ProGuard:778)
        at com.clipsal.cgate.cbus.core.CBusUnit.q(ProGuard:875)
        at mO.a(ProGuard:1412)
        at mO.d(ProGuard:29331)
        at mN.run(ProGuard:1114)
    -----------------------------------
    
    So what I notice is that I have 2 networks:
    • One seems to Sync ok (pretty basic network - 1 Relay, 1 PCI, and a couple of key input units
    • The other network never comes out of sync status. Seeing the exception, I can confirm that this network does contain a bunch of universal dimmers, so maybe that's related?
    I haven't got time at present to try and move to a windows machine, and see if I get the same issue, but given the nature of the exception, and that its running ok on prior cGate version (under same version of Java) kind of feels like a regression in cGate.

    Cheers
     
    glen_m, Jan 25, 2024
    #8
    DarylMc likes this.
  9. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cleveland, QLD, Australia
    This is my guess.
    May be Linux specific and an issue with the Universal Dimmer class files in cgate.jar

    I would like to hear if the working setup anyone has on Linux has Universal Dimmers?
     
    DarylMc, Jan 28, 2024
    #9
  10. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cleveland, QLD, Australia
    I also tried cgate 3.2 on amd64.
    Same error as you with a universal dimmer on the network.
     
    DarylMc, Feb 1, 2024
    #10
  11. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cleveland, QLD, Australia
    I just tried cgate 3.2 bundled with Toolkit 17 on Windows amd64
    All was going well but once I set project.default and project.start and started cgate on its own I got the same exception error.

    I'm only testing on some units lying around.
    Next I might try something other than the universal dimmer.
     
    DarylMc, Feb 1, 2024
    #11
  12. DarylMc

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cleveland, QLD, Australia
    I just tried an 8 channel L5508D1A
    No exceptions from CGate and network synced and went to running state correctly.
    I think there could be some errors in CGate3 files relating to the L5504D2U universal dimmer.
    Firmware 1.6.00
     
    DarylMc, Feb 20, 2024
    #12
    Mr Mark likes this.
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.