C-Bus control from other software

Discussion in 'C-Bus Toolkit and C-Gate Software' started by [email protected], Feb 4, 2005.

1. arnis@nyherji.is

[email protected]

Hi

I am new to C-Bus and am planing my a install at my home, I would like to know if it?s possible to control the cbus network with programs other than the clipsal ones.

For example I would like to use MainLobby from www.cinemaronline.com that is a great menu system program with it I am able to create great looking and fully customizable screens to use with a touch screen device.

anyone using anything similar ?

[email protected], Feb 4, 2005
  2. arnis@nyherji.is

Duncan

Hi Arnis,

Welcome to the Forum.

Clipsal Integrated Systems sell a package similar to MainLobby called HomeGate, details here

If you didnt feel that was appropriate, rest assured that using MainLobby you will still be able to control your C-Bus gear.. MainLobby allows you to launch external executables, from there you can talk to another peice of software C-Gate (that we give away). You might need do a little bit of work to get something talking to C-Gate that MainLobby can talk to.. but via the forum I'm sure we can help you.

Clipsal C-Gate Server is a software suite that monitors and controls a Clipsal C-Bus system. C-Gate has been produced to allow software developers and systems integrators to interface to a Clipsal C-Bus system.

C-Gate server software is run on a PC and uses industry-standard TCP/IP interfaces. Using TCP/IP opens the ability to control, connect to, monitor and Internet-enable a C-Bus system.

Software applications or building management systems connect to C-Gate’s Command Interface and can issue commands (such as ON, OFF and RAMP)and query the status of any object (using the GET and SET commands) in C-Gate’s model of each network.