Best way to operate 82 lighting groups from one button

Discussion in 'C-Bus Toolkit and C-Gate Software' started by jimmywild, Dec 8, 2011.

1. jimmywild

jimmywild

Hi,

I'm relatively new to C-Bus so please be gentle.

Please could someone recommend me how i can operate 82 groups from one button, 70 groups doing 0% and 12 doing 100%

Currently have got all the output units in the area of one group called (All off) and then have a button set to Preset1 and 0% which works fine and turns all 82 groups off, but would now like to leave a few groups on without the need of having to push a another button.

Thanks
    Jimmy

jimmywild, Dec 8, 2011
  2. jimmywild

Newman

In C-Bus, the concept of Scenes covers this case. A Scene is used to set one or more Group addresses to independent levels. There's a good intro on the forum here. You can also read about them in the Toolkit and PICED help. In simple terms a Scene is just a long list of groups and levels. If using a Scene you would use the individual channel groups, not the Area Address to control them.

82 Groups is a fairly large Scene, so you'll need to have a device on your network capable of setting a Scene that big, such as a Touchscreen, Wiser or PAC. You can then remotely trigger this scene from the button on your switch.

If you don't have any of these devices but you do have some Scene capable switches (Neo, Saturn, Reflection, DLT, Avanti, 30M, etc) you can still do it. You'll need to spread the contents of the Scene among multiple units and remotely trigger the Scene.