Where have people placed their shutter relay

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by Mick01, Feb 2, 2010.

1. Mick01

Mick01

I am new to cbus and I am using my home that I am in building to gain experience in cbus. I have completed the cbus course and just looking at where installers located their shutter relay. I have a total of 14 to wire and was thinking of placing them in the DB , the problem with this is

1. uses alot of space
    2 cable runs back to the board

Was also thinking of hiding them in areas that they control i.e wardrobes using the wall mount enclosure. The roof space would be ideal but I think it would be get above 45c in summer so that rules that out.

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2010
    Mick01, Feb 2, 2010
  2. Mick01

LCE

I tend to put mine in the DB for neatness sake but I know clipsal have a enclosure specificly for the shutter relays to mount them remotely. I'll have a hunt around for the product code.

Edit: I see you know about the enclosure already. Considering the cost of the cable ( run a T&E and a Red/White Twin) which is minimal I like having all my equipment, where possible in one easy to access spot. ie. the DB.

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2010
    LCE, Feb 2, 2010
  3. Mick01

Conformist

Hi Mick

Just a note... We re-tested the shutter relay at have re-rated the temperature 0-55 degrees C (see shot from revised instructions below)

Hope this helps :)

Cheers

Attached Files:

Conformist, Feb 2, 2010
  4. Mick01

abg

I have 30 shutter relays, and like LCE I prefer to have all c-bus gear located together. If you scatter them around you'll be running power in to the relays and out to the blinds/curtains anyway as well as c-bus cabling. If they're all located in one spot it's much easier (IMHO) to wire and manage.

abg, Feb 2, 2010
  5. Mick01

znelbok

I have been considering this for a while, as I was looking at a different unit initially.