What is the Maximum Wattage Per Channel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MGBV8, Apr 12, 2018.

1. MGBV8

MGBV8

Hi Everyone,
    I am new to this C-Bus Forum.
    This is my 1st ever thread.

About 14 Years ago my entire home was fitted out with C-bus.
    The entire installation was professionally done at that time.

I am now in the process of adding Two garden lighting Channels.
    Each Channel with 5 Halogen Lamps. Each Lamp 20Watts. Hence - Total Wattage per Channel is 100 Watts.
    I want to run these two 5 Lamp Channels on a C-Bus "Dimmer" Module.

In the C-Bus cabinet there is a "Dimmer" Module. Part # L5508D1AP.
    6xChannels are in use. The other two Channels are Empty.

I have:
    10x Lamps at 20 watts each. [To be split into two sets of 5x20 Watts. Total 100Watts Per Channel]
    2xTransformers. The Specs are: Tridonic.ATCO LVL8-2. Enclosed Transformer.
    Input Voltage: 240V 50Hz. Output Voltage 12V a.c. Rating 200VA.
    Output Current: 16.7A(Fused 30A) V99.
    Code No: M120240012. AS/NZS 61558.

My Question now is
    With "Dimmer" Module. Part # L5508D1AP
    What is the Maximum Wattage Per Channel "Safely" Permitted on this Module.

I realise: Watts = Amps x Volts.
    So Amps = Watts/Volts.
    So is it: 100 Watts /240 Volts = 0.416 Amps per Circuit. [High Voltage Side]
    OR is it: 100 Watts /12Volts = 8.333 Amps per Circuit. [Low Voltage Side]

So my understanding is that the Tridonic ATCO LVL8-2 can "Safely" handle up to 16.7Amps [200VA /12V = 16.7Amps] on the Low Voltage Side.

What I fail to understand is the relationship between the C-Bus "Dimmer" Module. Part # L5508D1AP and the Tridonic ATCO LVL8-2. The C-Bus information Sheet says - Maximum Incandescent Load per Channel = 1Amp. [Is this 1Amp on High or Low Voltage Side of Module]

In essence, I want to know if it is possible to run 5x20 Watt Halogen Lamps [Channel total 100Watts] with "Dimmer" Module. Part # L5508D1AP and the Tridonic ATCO LVL8-2.