What have I got, and how do I change it?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Spiky, Apr 6, 2015.

1. Spiky

Spiky

I've recently bought a house which has a Clipsal C-Bus system fitted.

I know that it's a 'C-Touch Spectrum + Logic', Hardware Version 1.0, C-Bus Firmware Version 5.4.00, and C-Touch Firmware Version 3.80.0.

And that, sadly, is about where my knowledge of the thing ends.

I would like to get to know it an awful lot better, and would also like to change many of the settings that the system has been given. I have a rather sexy looking touch-screen thingy which allows me to control individual lights etc, but I cannot find a way of changing the programming.

I'm pretty handy with IT and computers, but I'm no electrician.

Apologies in advance if I've posted this in the wrong thread.

Spiky, Apr 6, 2015
  2. Spiky

daniel C-Busser Moderator

Welcome to C-Bus :)

First things first - as long as you don't touch the wiring, you don't need to be an electrician.

Second, if you can get the original project files from the previous owners or the contractor that installed the system this will get you up and running faster. You can "reverse-engineer" the project from the hardware but it will take you a lot longer.

Third, it's easier if you have a dedicated PCI or CNI to commission the network, but failing that your C-Touch can function as a gateway with a couple of caveats; it's not as reliable a gateway as the above and it won't run Logic at the same time so you will end up changing modes often as you work on your system.

You'll want to download and install both C-Bus Toolkit and PICED to a Windows PC. The first lets you configure all of your C-Bus devices, the second lets you configure the C-Touch display. The documentation is pretty good but it will take you a while to work through it all from scratch!

daniel, Apr 8, 2015
  3. Spiky

Spiky

Thanks for your reply Daniel.