Weather Station, Webserver, and Serial Comms

Discussion in 'Pascal Logic Code Examples' started by NickD, Jan 18, 2010.

1. NickD

NickD Moderator

Here's something I hope people will find useful.

I did most of this nearly 6 months ago when I was off work for a week with the swine flu... too sick to go to work but not sick enough not to be bored out of my mind doing nothing.... so call me a geek.

It started out as a project to talk to a weather station like one of these.

..but then I wanted to share the info I'd got from it with other devices, and after a brief conversation with matty, we worked out we could implement a basic web server in logic too.

I've been running this code in my own installation for a few months now... I've set up a proxy in my "proper" webserver to forward requests for the weather station to the Colour Touchscreen and it's been working reliably (my friends who live nearby use it regularly to check how much rainfall we've had).

The attached project is not very pretty, but the logic code has plenty of examples of how to tackle various problems, and the webserver is kind of cool (IMHO).. and I think it's a good example of how powerful the logic engine really is (thanks darren!).

Next is to make it tweet with weather observations... but that might have to wait until the next flu season...

Feel free to use this as you like.. any questions, comments, etc welcome.

Nick

Attached Files:

NickD, Jan 18, 2010
  2. NickD

nickrusanov

looks nice to have such kind of a code, thank you!

but what kind of hardware do we use?

Wireless Vantage Pro2 and C-Touch through RS232? what kind of web server do you mean?

nickrusanov, Jan 28, 2010
  3. NickD

NickD Moderator

The hardware is the Wireless Integrated Sensor Suite and Weather Envoy with the RS232 interface, connected to a Colour C-Touch. You could just as easily use a B&W C-Touch Mk2, although the number of System IO variables used may be a problem.