USB Driver for Windows 7

Discussion in 'C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software' started by Dave Byron, Mar 2, 2010.

1. Dave Byron

Dave Byron

When will a USB Driver for Windows 7 be available ???
    Its getting criticial now as all our laptops now have windows 7 on then.
    The error message says only signed drivers are permitted.

Any work around other then getting old laptop

tks
    dave

Dave Byron, Mar 2, 2010
  2. Dave Byron

ashleigh Moderator

Search the forums dave. There is a posting here telling you how to use an unsigned driver.

ashleigh, Mar 2, 2010
  3. Dave Byron

Don

A quick Google and you can find out ways to allow unsigned drivers for windows 7. I guess M$oft has tightened up on the restrictions in Win 7, but it looks easy enough to get around.

One suggestion was to hold F8 while powering up, and you will be presented a menu of options, one of which is to allow unsigned drivers.

I have no experience with this personally.

Don, Mar 2, 2010
  4. Dave Byron

constantcharge

I am and have been running Windows 7 since beta.

Clipsal drivers and software work fine on this, no compatability issues here.
    Only time I have had to use the method to force an unsigned driver is when I run the 64bit Version of Window 7, and once forced in it works fine.

constantcharge, Mar 2, 2010
  5. Dave Byron

george

george, Mar 2, 2010
  6. Dave Byron

Dave Byron

I am using 64 bit windows
    The install of Toolkit and Piced goes ok and all works well, the USB to serial connection also ok.
    Have reinstall both with the F8 option.

Now the trouble shows up when running Piced and plugin the USB cable to the C-Touch - get the normal "new hardware", "installing"
    etc then the unsigned bit.

Have found the F8 option only good for a session so as soon as you reboot its gone.
    There plenty of stuff on the net like turn off unsigned checking, turn off firewall, turn off virus checking and maybe all users have admin cap.

more searching

dave