USB Adaptors

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by allgo, Oct 2, 2004.

  1. allgo

    allgo

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am interested in what USB adaptors are being used when connecting to C-Bus, C-Touch etc. I know Clipsal recommends using the Dontronics adaptor but I currently use a Belkin adaptor and have no problems connecting to C-Bus, C-Touch and Minder.
     
    allgo, Oct 2, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. allgo

    Advantex

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Te Puke NZ
    I use HP and belkin, both work fine.
     
    Advantex, Oct 3, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. allgo

    ashleigh Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    There are many adaptors available. Some do not work very well, so recommendations or experience of other users is valuable.

    I'm using the EasySync US232 (not sure where to get them from), but it works well and its easy to install the s/w.
     
    ashleigh, Oct 5, 2004
    #3
  4. allgo

    daniel C-Busser Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Adelaide
    perhaps sticky (lock it at the top) this thread for people to add known working/non working brands? then this can feed into an official list.
     
    daniel, Oct 5, 2004
    #4
  5. allgo

    Chibby

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Meadows South Australia
    USB adaptor

    I have tried a U232-P9 adaptor some time ago with no luck, i could only connect via a deck top computer with a serial port. since reading this furum again i read a belkin unit worked. i perchased 1 today, installed and connected. still my lamtop cannot locate the network. i am using a Toshiba satellite running XP, has any one got any suggestions? :confused:
     
    Chibby, Nov 23, 2004
    #5
  6. allgo

    Wilko

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure the C-Bus software is looking at the right com port - on my laptop it is Com4.
     
    Wilko, Nov 23, 2004
    #6
  7. allgo

    UncleDick

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Couple of points on this, I'm not a PC nerd :eek: but I recall that 2000, NT and XP just keep adding USB vertual ports for every USB device you connect and they only drop them off if you shut down the port before physically removing it removing it, I think Coppo has info on this.

    Second point the Dontronics USB-RS232 converter that CIS recommend is capable of connecting to C-bus directly, HomeMinder directly and C-bus via HomeMinder others would do one or two of the options but not all three. If you only need to concider connecting directly to C-bus then pretty much every USB to RS232 converter that was tested did that. Also just about any PC/MCIA to RS232 unit tested did all three (but there is a cost factor)
     
    UncleDick, Nov 23, 2004
    #7
  8. allgo

    Duncan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salinas de Garci Mendoza, Bolivia
    Under WinXP if you remove a USB COM Port the device no longer shows up in the Device Manager so you cant delete it and the Port Number is 'consumed'. There is a way to show these hidden USB Devices that are no longer connected though:

    You need to create an Evironment Variable called "devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices" with a value of "1", this will cause the Device Manager to show those USB Devices that are no longer present, then you can delete them.
     
    Duncan, Nov 23, 2004
    #8
  9. allgo

    coppo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yes you can do this, however , from a lot of experience with people on training courses and different pc configurations we have seen that you can forcibly set the new USB adaptor to a supposedly "Reserved" com port. Win XP will of course give you a warning disclaimer to say that doing so may create a conflict.

    As far as "RELIABLE" we have found this to have varying levels depending on the operator, The DONTRONICS adaptor has reliably worked on repeat occaisions;
    -all day ( 6 Hours )
    -every day
    -during Homeminder and C-Bus training courses. ( 2-3 days long)

    In 85% of the cases , any other adaptor that customers have brought to a training course has failed at some stage during the 3 days.

    If anyone quotes a USB convertor here , please give some indication as to the typical operating period it is used for , as i am sure all users would prefer RELIABILITY over saving a few dollars. :rolleyes:
     
    coppo, Nov 23, 2004
    #9
  10. allgo

    Charlie Crackle

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Melbourne

    There is an easy way...

    XP
    You go into device manager and on the menu select "SHOW HIDDEN DEVICES"
    and you can then delete it
    2000
    Add remove hardware "Select remove" "Select hidden devices" and delete "Comm port"

    Charles
     
    Charlie Crackle, Nov 24, 2004
    #10
  11. allgo

    Duncan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salinas de Garci Mendoza, Bolivia

    Hi Charlie,

    I dont believe this will show non-present USB devices.
     
    Duncan, Nov 24, 2004
    #11
  12. allgo

    MikeW

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tried removing unused com ports on my laptop running Windows 2000 as described by Charlie and it seemed to work fine. When I reinstalled the USB to 232 converter it found new hardware and installed it to COM4.
     
    MikeW, Nov 24, 2004
    #12
  13. allgo

    Duncan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salinas de Garci Mendoza, Bolivia
    Perhaps its just WinXP then..
     
    Duncan, Nov 24, 2004
    #13
  14. allgo

    Duncan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salinas de Garci Mendoza, Bolivia
    Duncan, Nov 25, 2004
    #14
  15. allgo

    Scar

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use a Targus adaptor and has performed flawlessly for over 12 months.
    I had to force the adaptor in device manager to com port 2 (originally was installed as Com 5)
    Laptop has Windows 2000 installed.

    My laptop is used almost daily to connect to numerous serial devices and once i moved it to com port 2 I have had no problems at all.
    Also it has TX/RX/Link lights which sometimes come in handy for fault finding comms.

    Jason.
     
    Scar, Jan 15, 2005
    #15
  16. allgo

    martymonster

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a BAFO (Prolific) USB Serial adapter which works with Minder and V2 install software, it does have a few problems but the main problem is that it does not work with the new Toolkit 1.1.4.
    Does the Dontronics work with the new Toolkit 1.1.4?

    Using WinXP Sp2 on a Compaq Centrino laptop

    Martin
     
    martymonster, Jan 30, 2005
    #16
  17. allgo

    Duncan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salinas de Garci Mendoza, Bolivia
    Yes, the Dontronics one works with Toolkit.

    What do you see when using your existing USB Serial Adaptor with Toolkit?
     
    Duncan, Jan 30, 2005
    #17
  18. allgo

    martymonster

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    It says it cannot find the network name.
    But once today (out of about 20 tries) it found the network, scanned the units and then lost connection.

    Sometimes it cannot connect using to minder or V2, but only rarely.

    Guess I will have to get a new adapter

    Martin
     
    martymonster, Jan 30, 2005
    #18
  19. allgo

    Charlie Crackle

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Does the Dontronnics work with CTouch ??

    Charles
     
    Charlie Crackle, Jan 30, 2005
    #19
  20. allgo

    bassfiend

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    At home on my desktop PC I use a Keyspan USA49W USB to 4 Serial Port interface which has so far been *UTTERLY* faultless when used with either PCIs or for programming up mono touchscreens and I also use one of these on my own Sony VAIO laptop when I'm using it for programmng up C-Bus for work - again it has been *UTTERLY* faultless.

    I honestly can't praise these keyspan 4 port interfaces enough - they are the mutts nuts!

    Phil
     
    bassfiend, Oct 2, 2006
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.