UPS on CBUS with Comfort

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by theboyg, Nov 2, 2005.

  1. theboyg

    theboyg

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have something in mind I want to do - and that is provide basic lighting when we get a power outage. No candles !

    So, here's my thinking. I need to provide power to the CBUS Network, a select number of LED lights (good enough for illumination), and Comfort is already ok as it has it's own battery supply. Once power goes, Comfort can trigger a response and activate CBUS.

    So, I have 3 CBUS modules at the moment - 2 Dimmers and a Relay (will need to add another relay soon). I can remove the mains feed from these and provide this power form the UPS.
    On the dimmer I should just feed the earth, live and neutral on the left-side yes ? I will not be using the dimmer units to provide emergency lighting - this is just because the dimmers have the power supplies (the relay module doesnt).

    Then on the relay , I could use the switched live to the UPS, and bring the neutrals and earth from those LED power supplies back to the UPS (rather than the common in the cabinet).

    Question is - what size UPS do I need ! I have a spare 1200W unit I think should be enough to test.

    G.
     
    theboyg, Nov 2, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. theboyg

    NickD Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Adelaide
    One thing to bare in mind is that on the dimmers, the dimmer supply (right hand mains terminals) needs be on the same phase as the power supply (left hand mains terminals). This is because the power supply provides the zero crossing signal for the dimmer... if these are on different phases it gets quite confused. As long as your UPS is powered from the same phase as the dimmer supply, this shouldn't be a problem.

    Regarding UPS sizing.. the LED consuption will probably be your biggest drain... so that part is up to you :)

    As far as C-Bus consumption goes, if you work on a full load consumption of about 15W for a built-in 200mA C-Bus power supply, and about 25W for a standalone 350mA supply, you should be OK.

    Nick
     
    NickD, Nov 2, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. theboyg

    theboyg

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks

    Thanks, some good advice there.

    G.
     
    theboyg, Nov 3, 2005
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.