Unravel Process

Discussion in 'C-Bus Toolkit and C-Gate Software' started by sjfp, Nov 15, 2012.

  1. sjfp

    sjfp

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    When installing a new project toolkit will unravel the duplicate address and start readdressing from unit 1. Is there a way of doing this process but starting the readdressing from unit 100.
    The main reason for this is that it simplifies the process for allocating units to the correct address used in the design.

    Dont mind if its a third party that is used to the this.
     
    sjfp, Nov 15, 2012
    #1
  2. sjfp

    daniel C-Busser Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Hmm, couple of ways.

    1. If you're working with a database first (off site) you can write a script to process the XML and readdress all the units. Then on-site the unravel will move units to locations matching the database.

    2. If you're working with a network first (on site) you can first unravel it in Toolkit, then telnet to C-Gate (20023), "project use myproj" and execute "set 254/p/1 Address 100", "set 254/p/2 Address 101", one after the other. Or do this with a script. Then rescan in TK, transfer to DB and done.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 15, 2012
    daniel, Nov 15, 2012
    #2
  3. sjfp

    sjfp

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    have you got an example of a script I can use. We way we use the unravel is as per your option 2. (On Site first Unravel)
    What's the best scripting tool (Free is possible) to use in windows 7 ??
     
    sjfp, Nov 19, 2012
    #3
  4. sjfp

    daniel C-Busser Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Adelaide
    You can try this, but note you will need to tailor it to suit your needs. Use at your own risk!

    1. In Windows 7, first enable Telnet. (See instructions at bottom of http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc771275(v=ws.10).aspx)

    2. Create a Visual Basic file, eg. script.vbs containing something like:

    Code:
    Option explicit
    Dim oShell
    set oShell= Wscript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
    oShell.Run "telnet"
    WScript.Sleep 1000
    oShell.Sendkeys "open localhost 20023~"
    WScript.Sleep 1000
    oShell.Sendkeys "project load myproj~"
    WScript.Sleep 1000
    oShell.Sendkeys "project use myproj~"
    WScript.Sleep 1000
    oShell.Sendkeys "net open 254~"
    WScript.Sleep 60000
    oShell.Sendkeys "set 254/p/1 Address 100~"
    WScript.Sleep 1000
    oShell.Sendkeys "set 254/p/2 Address 101~"
    WScript.Sleep 10000
    oShell.Sendkeys "exit~"
    Wscript.Quit
    3. Modify the script to your needs. If the network takes more than 60 seconds to sync when opened, adjust the sleep time. If you have already opened it in toolkit, you can remove the "net open" step entirely. Add additional readdress commands as needed.

    4. Run the script. You will see it opening a telnet window and executing the commands.

    5. Rescan the network in Toolkit.
     
    daniel, Nov 20, 2012
    #4
  5. sjfp

    sjfp

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    cheers daniel
     
    sjfp, Nov 21, 2012
    #5
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.