Two Wired networks connected by 2 Wireless gateways

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wireless Hardware' started by martymonster, Apr 18, 2006.

  1. martymonster

    martymonster

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is it easy to set up the following

    2 Wired networks connected by 2 wireless gateways?

    Currently there is a 1 wired network which also has a wireless gateway which uses wireless wall plugs.

    In the same property, the garage is currently a normal non C-Bus setup.
    The idea is to use a 4 channel relay and convert the garage fluro lights to a C-Bus setup.
    There is a chance that due to brick walls etc, the new wired network cannot be hooked into the existing wired network, hence the possible need for a wireless gateway in the garage.
    If the new network can be hooked into the existing network (easy access to the Cat 5 C-Bus cable) then that is the method which will be used as then there will still be 1 wired and 1 wireless network.

    I had the electrician over tonight to see if the mains wiring can be done.

    Replace the mains wiring to the switches to Cat-5 wiring and re-run the mains to the relay etc.
    No problems there. :)

    Martin
     
    martymonster, Apr 18, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. martymonster

    Wonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Adelaide
    It is possible to use two gateways each linking to a wired network. but in your situation would replacing your standard switch with a wireless unit be easier
     
    Wonkey, Apr 19, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. martymonster

    martymonster

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes and no :cool:

    There are some instances of multiple switches operating the same light.
    There are some other lights in another area which are currently connected to a normal switch which will be split to both C-Bus and normal etc (for the time being). But if at the time we can convert them all to C-Bus, we will.
    There are a few 3 way switches (3 lights per switch unit), wireless only supports 2 hardwired units on a switch.

    The cost factor will be pretty much the same.
    I will be using 4 gang 2000 series switches to keep them the same as the existing C-Bus units.

    The use of a second wireless gateway is a last resort as we should be able to splice into an existing C-Bus Cat5 cable.

    Any other existing mains operated switches can only be converted to wireless switches, but my wife does not like mixing Saturn switches with 2000 series.:(
    All I need to do now is get the equipment and then organise when my sparky can come over.

    Martin
     
    martymonster, Apr 19, 2006
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.