Triggering SHAC scenes from EDLT

Discussion in 'C-Bus Automation Controllers' started by jorr, Mar 4, 2018.

  1. jorr

    jorr

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hi all,

    I must be having a dumb moment here, but I've created scenes in my new SHAC, which is triggered by a group on the Trigger Control application (202). I can't trigger any of those scenes via my EDLT's (lighting application) as the secondary application drop down doesn't include the trigger application. What am I doing wrong? I prefer to keep all of my scenes centralised, hence recreating them in the SHAC (I'm transferring over from a Wiser 1)

    Thanks in advance
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 4, 2018
    jorr, Mar 4, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jorr

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    1) Set up dummy (empty scenes) in the eldts scene manage.
    • open edlt editor select scene manager
    • select scene 1 (leave it empty)
    • enter scene label
    • Select the trigger group and action selector
    • close scene manager
    2) Setup a trigger to send
    • goto key settings tab
    • select a button
    • select widget type - scene
    • under key select on/off
    • under scene select Scene you want to send the trigger value for
    • under label type select scene label
    • press ok
    When you press the button on the edlt it will now send the trigger with the action selector number.
    you can select different key functions, depending on if t=you want to be able to cycle triggers etc.
     
    lcrowhurst, Mar 4, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jorr

    jorr

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Thanks so much. Very quick and easy. Worked perfectly.
     
    jorr, Mar 5, 2018
    #3
  4. jorr

    allanf

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks, able to turn on a scene using the above instructions by assigning scene "on" to a edlt button.
    But, how do I turn off the scene using the same button.

    Essentially, how to toggle SHAC scene on/off using the same EDLT button?
     
    allanf, Jul 10, 2020
    #4
  5. jorr

    Pie Boy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Create 2 scenes, with the same trigger group
    The off scene with action selector 0 and the on scene with action selector 255

    then just toggle the trigger group
     
    Pie Boy, Jul 10, 2020
    #5
  6. jorr

    allanf

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sydney
    Okay, I have the two action selectors created:
    upload_2020-7-10_18-54-13.png

    In EDLT scene manager I have set Scene 3 & 4
    upload_2020-7-10_18-54-46.png




    Now in EDLT - I have selected <key><Widget-Scene><Off/On>
    But I can only select one option <Outside On>
    How and where to assign <Outside Off>?
    upload_2020-7-10_18-52-14.png
     
    allanf, Jul 10, 2020
    #6
  7. jorr

    allanf

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sydney
    Forgot to mention the scene is on 5500SHAC.
     
    allanf, Jul 10, 2020
    #7
  8. jorr

    Pie Boy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I think if you set the edlt scene Widget to on/off
    It will set the trigger group assigned to the scene and it’s action selector to 0 and 255 respectively

    if you create the scenes in the shac, no problem, when you configure the edlt you just have no groups in the edlt scene only assign the trigger group and action selector to the dummy scene
     
    Pie Boy, Jul 10, 2020
    #8
  9. jorr

    allanf

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sydney
    From my tests and playing around thus far ....

    It looks like edlt only has the capability to toggle LOCAL scenes on/off.
    It seems like REMOTE scenes (on SHAC) need the On and Off action selectors explicitly assigned to two different keys.

    Has anyone been able to toggle REMOTE scenes in edlt using a single key?
     
    allanf, Jul 10, 2020
    #9
  10. jorr

    Pie Boy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    New Zealand
    see attached screen shot, use scene cycle, and put both scenes in there
     

    Attached Files:

    Pie Boy, Jul 12, 2020
    #10
  11. jorr

    allanf

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sydney
    <@Pie Boy> Thanks, Yes, I tried and and it works. As in, it toggles between the two scenes On/Off.
    But that still leaves the key/button light 'ON' indicating a particular scene is active which creates a misleading visual feedback when the "OFF' scene is active.
    Either way it is a workaround, but Ideally would like the ability for EDLT's to handle remote scenes similar to local scenes.
     
    allanf, Jul 13, 2020
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.