Triggering Scenes

Discussion in 'C-Bus Toolkit and C-Gate Software' started by Steve Oakes, Aug 20, 2012.

1. Steve Oakes

Steve Oakes

Hello

I am new to C-BUS and would like help with what is perhaps a very basic application.

In my kitchen I would like to have 2 groups of non-dimmable lights, for the purposes of this question called 'kitchen inner' and 'kitchen outer'. I would like to use a 5753L 360 deg flush mounted occupancy sensor so that in the evening (I assume 'motion in darkness' MD) the motion sensor will switch both kitchen inner and kitchen outer together so all kitchen lights are controlled and in the night (I assume sunset to sunrise SS) only kitchen inner would be switched by the motion sensor.

I started out by making 2 groups 'kitchen inner', 'kitchen outer' on a relay module and realised that switching of more than 1 group at a time is not possible as you can only enter 1 group in the 'key' fields of the motion sensor. The way forward seems to be to create scences.

The motion sensor does not support scences as far as I can see so to me one solution would be to use 2 keys of my 5G DLT and assign them as scene 1and scene 2

scene 1 - kitchen both - kitchen inner 100%, kitchen outer 100%
    scene 2 - kitchen inner - kitchen inner 100%

In setting up of the scences I noticed that only a single trigger group could be created 'KITCHEN' with the note 'This trigger group applies to all scenes on this unit', I did not really understand this note but then realised that individual action selectors can be made, 'kitchen inner act', 'kitchen outer act' so I thought these could be used as the trigger?