Test Bench Mock-Up for learning

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by industeq, Mar 15, 2009.

1. industeq

industeq

Today I made a portable working mock up test bench with the below components mounted all on a piece of plywood.

BCN4B ? 4 Input Bus Coupler Non-isolated
    DIMDN4F ? DIN Rail 4 Channel Dimmer, 4A per Channel
    KEYM8 ? 8 Gang NEO Key Input Unit
    PCLOCAL4 ? DIN Rail PC Interface

Inputs wired to the Clipsal Bus Coupler:
    ? 2 single pole maintained switch (common on/off wall switch)
    ? 1 single pole double throw momentary switch (spring to center)

Loads:
    ? 1 50W light
    ? 2 Duplex Outlets (with 2 table top lamps plugged into)
    ? 1 exhaust bathroom fan

I have a 110V wall plug in cord with a 10A breaker wired in as my main incoming so I can move around as needed to show.

Using my laptop and the RS232 into the PCI prwsently I have a way to to live testing.

Since I am new to Clipsal I wanted a way to learn the functions of the C-Bus Tool-Kit and having a mock-up is very usefull..

A few things I wanted to verify and now after testing here is what I found so far.
    1. Using a bathroom exhaust fan wired I hear & see no noticeable humming by using a dimmer unit but then again the fan is LOUD as it is a cheaper unit. There was a lot of Yes & No controversy on the forum on variable fan loads and wanted to see for myself. I am wanting to wire the Dimmer to a Ceiling Fan instead of using a Clipsal relay unit.
    2. Using a single pole double throw spring return to center wall switch (Leviton 5657) and having programmed as ?Dimmer Up? on one contact side and ?Dimmer Down? on the other contact side wired into the Bus Coupler it works very nice. A continuous press will dim up as a quick press will put the light at 100% and the other side of the switch will dim down with a continuous press or a quick double click will completely turn off the light. It functions like those expensive high voltage dimmers made by Lutron.