Temporarily Disabling Lights and limiting max brightness?

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by IanCun, Sep 28, 2015.

1. IanCun

IanCun

I've got a 5500PACA pascal unit for logic programming, plus one of the new eDLT units to store scenes. I had an idea for a setup I can use to automate how I use the lights when using my telescope in the garden.

I'm trying to add a button to the eDLT which I can toggle on/off to do the following:

• Turn off outdoor lights (all on one dimmer output, controlled via outdoor light sensor).
    • Limit max brightness of all other lights to 20%
    • Fade all lights that are currently on down to new 20% max level

I'm a novice to c-bus and I'm not sure on the best way to go about doing this. Is there a way to avoid using the logic engine? I'm unsure of how to disable the outdoor lights when the existing light sensor will keep checking light levels to turn the lights on.

IanCun, Sep 28, 2015
  2. IanCun

Ashley

You should be able to do this without the PACA by utilising the logic in the output dimmers. You need to create a new GA that will be used to set the maximum brightness. Put this in the logic section for all required output channels and set the function to MIN. Under normal operation this GA will be set to 100% and therefore not affect the output. Your scene just has to set it to 20% to limit the max brightness then back to 100% when you are done. You could try ramping this value down to 20% but I have no idea whether the dimmers will honor ramp commands for logic GA's (I've never tired it).

Then just create a scene to do what you want, including this GA.

To disable the sensor, create another GA for it's enable/disable function and put this in the same scene.

You will need 2 scenes. One to set it all up, and the second to revert it back to normal operation. If you want to do this with a single button look here:

http://www.cbusforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12401

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 30, 2015