temperature control

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Aaron, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. Aaron

    Aaron

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Hello all,

    New to C-Bus, but been on a few courses and pleased to be putting some items together, and more importantly, getting them to work.

    My next step.
    I'm looking to control some underfloor heating, in various rooms.

    What I currently have is a PLC controlling the floor temperature depending on the floor temperature (4-20mA signal). Crude but it works.

    I would like to convert all this to C-Bus control, and improve it.

    I have purchased a General Input Unit and have wired up the 4-20mA signal.
    on the config of the channel I can see the input seems to be working.
    This is where I'm struggling - where does this info go??

    I have also aquired a room temperature sensor for the room.
    I have managed to get this to display on the screen - quite pleased with myself!!

    I would like to display both these temperatures on a B&W MkII screen??
    I would also like to control the heating (on/off) depending on these temperatures.

    Any pointers much appreciated

    TIA
     
    Aaron, Jul 16, 2009
    #1
  2. Aaron

    NickD Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Welcome.

    It sounds like you have the right idea.

    The measurements from the general input unit get sent on C-Bus on the "Measurement Application".. these measurements can be displayed on the MkII Ctouch in a similare way to that which you have already achieved with the room temperature sensor.

    If you have the version of the MkII which includes the logic engine, you can write some code to control your heating (assuming you have some way of turning it on/off from C-Bus).. something like

    once ((floor temperature < (setpoint - margin)) then
    turn heating on;

    once (floor temperature > (setpoint + margin)) then
    turn heating off;

    "floor temperature" would be derived from your measured temperature, whereas "setpoint" would be a SystemIO variable which allows you to adjust the setpoint from the screen. "margin" would probably be a constant, although it could equally be another SystemIO variable to allow you to tweak your settings.

    Nick
     
    NickD, Jul 17, 2009
    #2
  3. Aaron

    Aaron

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Thanks,

    Yes the B&W has logic on board.

    I'm getting stuck at present with the General input unit.
    Where/how can I access the temperature input from the GIU.
    I know its there as I can see it within the set-up pages for each channel when displaying current value for that channel.

    I'm obviously missing something simple.

    Is there any guidance for the GIU on line.


    Aaron
     
    Aaron, Jul 17, 2009
    #3
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.