Tcp/ip

Discussion in 'C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software' started by alexm, Nov 28, 2005.

  1. alexm

    alexm

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wellington
    Hi,

    I have a set of Colour Touch Screens on a network, and I wish to use the inbuilt Socket functions in PICED to communicate between the screens.
    I have been able to run a screen that opens a Server Socket, but the Client Socket functions do not seem to work.

    This error is displayed on the screen:

    C-Gate Disconnected Unexpectedly
    PICED cannot operate without a C-Gate connection and needs to be closed.

    Code:

    { initialisation }
    SERVER_IP := '169.254.183.1'; { Server IP Address }
    SERVER_PORT := 8080; { Server Listening Port }
    connected := false; { Whether we have connected to the Server or not }

    { client connect code }
    if( not connected) then
    begin
    OpenClientSocket(SERVER_IP, SERVER_PORT);
    connected := true;
    end;
    { send a message to the server every 10s }
    if(ClientSocketConnected) then { if we have connected to the Server }
    begin
    if( not TimerRunning(1) ) then TimerStart(1);
    if TimerTime(1) > 10 then
    begin
    WriteClientSocket('test'); { send string to server }
    TimerSet(1,0); { reset the Timer }
    end;
    end;
     
    alexm, Nov 28, 2005
    #1
  2. alexm

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    At the moment, the Colour C-Touch firewall blocks all ports except for the one used by the CTC Client to communicate with the Colour C-Touch. This has been done for security reasons.

    This will prevent any of the socket functions from being used to communicate between the Colour C-Touch and some other device.
     
    Darren, Nov 28, 2005
    #2
  3. alexm

    alexm

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wellington
    Is it possible then to send custom strings over the Cbus network, as I am recieving streamed info from a media server that needs to be distributed to all other screens.

    Thanks for your help
     
    alexm, Nov 30, 2005
    #3
  4. alexm

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    No, this isn't possible.

    Your best bet with the Colour C-Touch would be use the serial port for communications. As this is RS232 it will only allow two units to communicate with each other. If you use an RS232 to RS485 converter, you might be able to get multiple devices to talk with each other, but we have never tried this.
     
    Darren, Nov 30, 2005
    #4
  5. alexm

    mikegriff

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Wales
    Hi Darren
    Does this mean then that you cant use the socket functions in CTC then?
    thanks
    Mike
     
    mikegriff, Nov 30, 2005
    #5
  6. alexm

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    That is right. I will disable them in the next release of PICED so that you don't accidentally use them,
     
    Darren, Dec 1, 2005
    #6
  7. alexm

    mikegriff

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Wales
    Oh Dear

    Sockets is really needed in the CTC.
    Does this mean then that Sockets and HTML links will not be implimented on CTC? and the only gateway for Sockets is Homegate?

    To cheer me up are you just about to release a version of Homegate that runs on a PDA?


    Thanks
    Mike
     
    mikegriff, Dec 1, 2005
    #7
  8. alexm

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    We may allow the use of sockets on selected ports. We don't want to rush into it because of potential security issues.
     
    Darren, Dec 1, 2005
    #8
  9. alexm

    Richo

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide
    What sort of PDA would you like Homegate to run on?
     
    Richo, Dec 1, 2005
    #9
  10. alexm

    mikegriff

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Wales
    I really just want a wireless remote control
    Seemed to me that Homegate running on a Pocket PC would give me complete control of the house from Cgate

    Change the TV alter the temp of the house etc

    the CTC, B&Wtouch, neos etc are very smooth but for full control , Armchair Control is needed further than offered by the IR interface

    Homegate I believe would give all that on Pocket PC
    thanks
    Mike
     
    mikegriff, Dec 1, 2005
    #10
  11. alexm

    Richo

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide
    So you would be happy with a solution that uses Wireless Lan for communications. Would you expect your PDA to have good enough battery life to cope? Are you picturing this being a dedicated PDA that sits in the lounge (perhaps in a charging cradle) or a true PDA that you carry everywhere and happen to use for Home Automation when at home.
     
    Richo, Dec 1, 2005
    #11
  12. alexm

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    You can control HomeGate via a web browser on a Pocket PC through the use of ServerX.
     
    Darren, Dec 1, 2005
    #12
  13. alexm

    mikegriff

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Wales
    Brilliant

    I think you know exactly what I want
    This is a dedicated PDA to replace the remote control
    (We will leave the geek factor that you can roam the house with you're mobile phone till later)

    Most customers will want to control certain things from their main seating position.
    At present this isnt possible with Cbus
    The remote is very cool for lighting but if I gave it to a customer to control their TV they might not be amused
    on the other hand a PDA
    A page for temp
    A page for lights
    A page for IR TV control

    I needn't go on

    Most people want to go into the lounge and control the lounge (totally)
    they then might move to the .....?? say games room Pick up the PDA for the games room, and from the same PDA then control the Music.


    Dont get me wrong the touch screens are needed
    But for people who can afford CBUS a couple of PDA's isnt an issue

    And the charger at least allows them to find them :)


    my 2d worth
    Mike
     
    mikegriff, Dec 1, 2005
    #13
  14. alexm

    mikegriff

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Wales
    I've tried and it works
    But there again I'm a bit of a Geek

    Controling via the web works but O H____ I__ t___ i___ s ____s__________ o_

    s___________ l_______________________ o__________________________ w

    Homegate works
    FAST
    Mike
     
    mikegriff, Dec 1, 2005
    #14
  15. alexm

    Richo

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide
    A solution that runs as a native PDA application (Windows Mobile 5.0, Windows CE, Windows .Net CF, Palm, Linux [think nokia 770], Java J2ME, what else) talking to a server PC running C-Gate or talking to CNI? What is your preference.

    What features would be required in a PDA Homegate that the current version doesn't support (maybe desktop doesn't need it). What features are in the desktop Homegate would you deem unnecessary if features had to be cut to make it work (cut from PDA version not desktop version) if a PDA version was to be considered.
     
    Richo, Dec 2, 2005
    #15
  16. alexm

    rhamer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    rhamer, Dec 2, 2005
    #16
  17. alexm

    mikegriff

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Wales
    No logic
    No schedules
    No scenes
    No access control
    No IO
    No Monitor
    No Log
    etc

    simple input device
    only returning true cbus levels
    (i.e. anything working out side cgate just sending)

    hopefully designed within Homegate desktop
    (or as is the current trend PICED ;-) )


    comms to cbus I feel should just latch on to an exsisting cgate setup
    would be cool if that could be ctc but wouldnt be a deal breaker

    (If it talked to a PC then if that crashed you would only lose your remote control NOT the whole house control)

    As for straight to CNI I would vote for it as it bypasses the PC and thus crashes

    XBox 360 is meant to link to Windows media server so why not Cbus --- but now we are running before we can crawl :)

    again my 2d's worth
    Mike

     
    mikegriff, Dec 2, 2005
    #17
  18. alexm

    Richo

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Thanks for the list. What PDA operating systems should be supported?

    Windows Mobile 5.0, Windows CE, Windows .Net CF, Palm, Linux [think nokia 770], Java J2ME, what else

    If we could only do one what one should it be?
     
    Richo, Dec 2, 2005
    #18
  19. alexm

    mikegriff

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Wales
    I would vote for the windows PDA first
    Thanks
    Mike
     
    mikegriff, Dec 2, 2005
    #19
  20. alexm

    Nobes

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hobart
    I have been thinking about the same issue.

    A PDA sounds like the best option that gives you the most flexability.

    Connection wise, I'm not fussed but CNI would probably be the most stable way.

    Probably don't need the irrigation controller either. Most people who would buy a PDA/Homegate would already have a Colour Touch I would think.

    Operating system....I haven't had that much experience with PDA's so I couldn't make an informed call.
     
    Nobes, Dec 5, 2005
    #20
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.