Some general questoins on C-Bus

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by mcsortan, Mar 18, 2013.

1. mcsortan

mcsortan

I'm a newbie to C-Bus and I'm slowly getting my network up and running. A few questions if anyone can help

1. Should I be able to see my 5100PS power supply in the toolkit?

2. My network status says my current consumption is 104mA and my current supply is 0mA. Does this mean my 5100PS could be faulty.

3. I have a 5108RELVP unit that is switching perfectly but not outputting any voltage. Could this be a symptom of the above?

Thanks to anyone who can help

mcsortan, Mar 18, 2013
  2. mcsortan

Roosta

1. Should I be able to see my 5100PS power supply in the toolkit?

No, in a network scan, you shouldnt be able to see it.. You can add it to your database manually though..

2. My network status says my current consumption is 104mA and my current supply is 0mA. Does this mean my 5100PS could be faulty.

Dont believe the figures stated in toolkit as it only calculate on the items listed in your database..
    No it does not necessarily mean your powersupply is faulty..

3. I have a 5108RELVP unit that is switching perfectly but not outputting any voltage. Could this be a symptom of the above?
    No, the 5108RELVP is a voltage free contact, ie, it just switches as a normal switch does...

Cheers..

Roosta, Mar 18, 2013
  3. mcsortan

Mr Mark

Hello mscortan.

1. No, you will not be able to see your power supplies via Toolkit.
    2. Your power supply is most likely OK, these figures are calculated in Toolkit from the unit part numbers, eg: a L5504RVF will supply 200mA whereas a L5504RVFP will not supply any.
    3. The outputs on the 5108RELVP are volt free so you will need to supply voltage to them. Keep in mind they are rated up to 30V (AC or DC) at 2 Amp.

Hope that helps,

Mark

Mr Mark, Mar 18, 2013
  4. mcsortan

ashleigh Moderator