Serial C&M via Ctouch via 5500PC

Discussion in 'C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software' started by niciinnz, May 5, 2010.

  1. niciinnz

    niciinnz

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi There,
    Thought I had the basics down but missing something, trying to write logic to send (and receive) serial cmds to (and from) an AV Receiver, when writing the code in PICED, I want to open the serial port on the 5500PC,

    from the Logic Help , I get,

    OpenSerial(SerialPortIndex, COMPortNo, BaudRate, DataBits, StopBits, FlowControl, Parity);

    But doesn't this relate to the Port on the Touchscreen?
    How do I choose to use the 5500PC?
    Does anyone out there have a reallife example other than the examples on the helpfile?:confused:

    Cheers
     
    niciinnz, May 5, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. niciinnz

    NickD Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Adelaide
    You can't do this with a 5500PC...

    For debugging, you can test your logic code in PICED using a serial port on your PC (you would connect this to your AV receiver).

    To run it on a real C-Bus device, you need a device that incorporates the logic engine, as well as an RS232 port... which is either

    a) a 5500PACA
    b) a 5000CTC (Colour Touchscreen)
    c) a 5000CTBL (Black & White Touchscreen Mk2 with Logic)

    for a) you will also need the RJ45-DB9 serial cable
    for c) you will need the serial cable 5000CT2RS232 and an adapter because the DB9 on this cable is the wrong sex for connecting to something other than a PC :(

    Nick
     
    NickD, May 5, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. niciinnz

    niciinnz

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers for that one, explains why it didn't make sense, I guess I can only control 1 device per cbus unit then ?
     
    niciinnz, May 5, 2010
    #3
  4. niciinnz

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    The PAC has 2 serial ports.
     
    Darren, May 5, 2010
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.