Send CBUS to CNI from NAC

Discussion in 'C-Bus Automation Controllers' started by sjfp, Nov 1, 2018.

  1. sjfp

    sjfp

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Hi, trying to find the best way to send ON OFF commands to a CNI from a NAC.

    We have an existing project that has 1 small remote building which has a 4 channel relay and 1 CNI. And I want to be able to switch 2 channels only.

    It use be controlled via Schedule Plus, but we are moving everything onto a NAC, but that's in the main building far away from the CNI module.

    Any ideas.
     
    sjfp, Nov 1, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. sjfp

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    The only way to send ON/OFF commands to a CNI is via the serial protocol which is freely available with examples. Simply define the 4 strings (On and OFF for both ga's), make a TCP connection to the CNI and send the appropriate string.
     
    Ashley, Nov 1, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. sjfp

    MJS

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth, ZA
    Hi Ashley,
    I am also looking for this functionality, but not via the serial protocol.
    In December 2017, I was given a roadmap of development, which indicated that C-Bus over IP functionality would have been available by August 2018. I understand that a roadmap is not exact, but an updated timeline would be appreciated. View attachment 2375
     
    MJS, Dec 4, 2018
    #3
  4. sjfp

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Can't help you there (I don't work for Clipsal/Schneider), but seeing that the Dec/Jan updates didn't come out until September, and we haven't seen the April ones yet it's not going to happen in the near future. Happy to be proven wrong though :)
     
    Ashley, Dec 4, 2018
    #4
  5. sjfp

    NickD Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I'm afraid I can't go into the roadmap... and was also asked to remove it since it could only have come from material that was either commercial in confidence or shared under NDA.

    @MJS.. if you can elaborate on what you need to achieve we may be able to propose an alternative in the meantime.

    Nick
     
    NickD, Dec 5, 2018
    #5
  6. sjfp

    MJS

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth, ZA
    Hi Nick,
    I have older (2 years+) sites where networks are connected via CNI's to S+. In order to connect these to SBO we installed C-Bus OPC and made points available via a BACnet OPC client. This worked successfully, but is not as robust as I would like.
    On newer sites we install NAC's instead of CNI's from the start and make the points available per network.

    I would like to change the existing (older) sites, by replacing one CNI with a NAC and expose all the points from all networks to SBO through this one device.
     
    MJS, Dec 5, 2018
    #6
  7. sjfp

    NickD Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Hi MJS,

    That sounds reasonable.. but I don't quite follow which part of that requires the C-Bus over IP?

    Is it a limitation in the number of objects you want to connect?

    Nick
     
    NickD, Dec 6, 2018
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.