Security Wiring

Discussion in 'Homesafe & Security Access & Control' started by lcrowhurst, Mar 19, 2005.

  1. lcrowhurst

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Where can I find info on how to wire the homesafe system, eg what cabling to use, how to connect sensors etc.

    Also are there any smoke detector that work with cbus and/or home safe, I want to be able to turn lights and fans on in the house if a smoke detector goes off.
     
    lcrowhurst, Mar 19, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. lcrowhurst

    coppo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Adelaide
    wiring homesafe

    In the instruction manual it shows u the wiring method,
    there is also a users guide that you can download from the CIS website,
    in the installation instruction section.

    http://www.clipsal.com/cis/lit_installinstructions_homesafe.php3

    No such thing as cbus smoke alarm.
    You buy the interfacing module to suit the smoke detector.

    clipsal part number is 756, it only works with clipsal smokies, for other brands please
    consult the manufacturer.

    how to wire in cbus to homesafe refer to the existing thread
    http://www.cbusforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=813
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 21, 2005
    coppo, Mar 21, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. lcrowhurst

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Thanks for the info

    Thanks for the info thats just what I needed .

    is the clipsal homesafe 5400 the same unit as the ness dx8 ?
     
    lcrowhurst, Mar 21, 2005
    #3
  4. lcrowhurst

    coppo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ness

    Yes, Ness rebadge the D8 for clipsal
     
    coppo, Mar 23, 2005
    #4
  5. lcrowhurst

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Keyless Entry

    Are there any install diagrams for setting the keyless entry to deactivate 5400 alarm.

    I can see that you could use the output (relay contact) from the keyless controller, an add it as zone input to the 5400, but is there a more "integrated" method, from the diagram I have of the 5400 I cant see a dedicated keyless input.

    Loz
     
    lcrowhurst, Mar 26, 2005
    #5
  6. lcrowhurst

    coppo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Adelaide
    No , there are not any more detailed diagrams sorry.

    The 5400 only supports remote arm/disarm via zone8 and is wired as per the
    wiring diagram in the 5400 installation instructions.

    The page number may vary depending on the book, so look it up under the
    option P60E 2E, 3E. It details how to wire it up.

    There is no method to further integrate it with the keyless entry system.

    THe next incarnation of 5400 will support hardwire connection via WEIGAND access control, details of it will be released with the product.
     
    coppo, Apr 4, 2005
    #6
  7. lcrowhurst

    darrenblake

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    5400 and keyless entry

    You can connect the keyless entry system to the homesafe panel, as mentioned using zone 8 and settting it up for keyswitch arming.
    The only issue with doing this is if the alarm is disarmed, and someone else "badges in", they will re-arm the alarm system.
    The keyswitch arming works on a toggle type arrangement, and generally looks for a pulsed contact closures.
    Dependant on whether you wanted to be able to arm the system via the fobs, you may be able to set up an isolating relay by using the ARM 1 pin on the J7 (for memory) connector block.
    This could be used to isolate the keyless entry relay from inputing into the keyswitch arming input (zone 8) when the system is disarmed. This would prevent the system being inadvertently armed when unlocking the door.
    The system would need to be armed via the keypad or remote.
    Perhaps other forum users may have some other suggestions
     
    darrenblake, Apr 5, 2005
    #7
  8. lcrowhurst

    CC&C

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a comment on activating a fan for smoke control in the event of a fire: I would seek some professional advice with respect to your specific situation before doing this. You may in fact increase the risk of spreading fire to other parts of the building as well as creating a good supply of oxygen to help fuel the fire. This could also have insurance implications. There are Building Code requirements surrounding this issue for commercial buildings, however, there are no requirements for domestic buildings. I suspect with the proliferation of Home Automation systems, there soon will be.

    (P.S. I don't work in the fire or insurance industries, just my observations).
     
    CC&C, Apr 6, 2005
    #8
  9. lcrowhurst

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    keyless Entry to Homesafe and Cbus

    Thanks for the info guys

    So I need to do something like the diagram below

    Security wiring Diagram

    Is there an ETA for the new security panel, Ill have to do the install in about 2 week, is there any chance of the panel being ready by then?
     
    lcrowhurst, Apr 6, 2005
    #9
  10. lcrowhurst

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    re Fan operated by smoke detector

    agreed there may be an issue with operating fans as you say, It was more an example rather that what im going to put in place, but thanks for the reply.


    regards
    loz
     
    lcrowhurst, Apr 6, 2005
    #10
  11. lcrowhurst

    darrenblake

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Security access control wiring

    Looks pretty good, you will need to set the logic in the c-bus relay logic to AND for the access control input, and the alarm armed input
     
    darrenblake, Apr 6, 2005
    #11
  12. lcrowhurst

    coppo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Adelaide
    The new 8 Zone panel is already being supplied from CIS to CLIPSAL AUSTRALIA and has been since late January.

    CLIPSAL AUST are supplying the old model until its stocks are depleted.

    Please contact your clipsal sales office for what model they are currently supplying.
     
    coppo, Apr 8, 2005
    #12
  13. lcrowhurst

    lcrowhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    new panel

    Is there a change to model number that indicates the new model, so I know Im getting the new one?
     
    lcrowhurst, Apr 8, 2005
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.