Scene delay to then trigger another scene

Discussion in 'C-Bus Automation Controllers' started by AntDwyer3875, Mar 20, 2020.

1. AntDwyer3875

AntDwyer3875

I'm new to the NAC5500 and I know this is going to sound a bit foolish but I can't get this to work, any help would be appreciated.

I am trying to create a "Good Night Scene".
    The objective is to turn on a few lights on low and after an extended period then turn them all off.
    Sounds simple but I can't get it to work correctly.
    I have created 2 scenes i.e. the ON and OFF sense with two triggers one to turn them on and the second which I placed in the first scene to turn them off after a period. Each of the scenes works individually but not when I put the second trigger into the first scene the lights to come on only for a second before going off disregarding the ramp up and then down setting within the scene.

Should I be doing this some other way using scripting or similar?

Any directions support or ideas would be appreciated.

AntDwyer3875, Mar 20, 2020
  2. AntDwyer3875

Ashley

I'm not sure what you are expecting here. If you trigger the second scene from the first scene (I assume you are using the scene trigger here) then as soon as you trigger the first scene it will immediately trigger the second one. That's how scenes work. They just step through each item and send out the appropriate command. The target devices then do the ramping, not the scene. Even if you use a lighting ga as the trigger it will ignore the ramp and just trigger on the value.

The easiest way is to create an event based script on the trigger group then in the script delay however long you want, then set the second scene. (The trigger group will trigger the first scene for you).

Ashley, Mar 21, 2020
  3. AntDwyer3875

SgrAystar

When editing a scene, for each component you can choose to 'Ramp Group' or 'Pulse Group'.
    Does 'Pulse Group' do what you want to achieve?

SgrAystar, Mar 22, 2020
  4. AntDwyer3875

Ashley