Saturn wall switches compared from the USA and Australia.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by industeq, Nov 17, 2009.

1. industeq

industeq

OK here is the skinny?..
    Since I am new to Clipsal and always looking for a good buy, my new install at our location I was price comparing.
    I found a 4 button Saturn at about ? the cost on E-Bay and was shipped from Australia to the USA.
    Now grant is not UL listed (USA electrical specification for safety / fire rating) but to see what is different and how it operates I now can explain.
    The programming in the Tool-Kit is the same and practically no change.
    The physical dimensions are the same and identical to the USA version.
    However the black bezel plate for the Australia version is thicker where the mounting screws mount and this will cause the wall plate to extend out about 6mm.
    I was able to alter the sheetrock to make work but I thought I would let the public know the difference.

BTW if there are any suppliers in Australia that can sell Clipsal to the USA send me a private E-Mail as I am looking for a Weiser and the new 24VDC relay module to test. ;)

Alan Dobbs
    Industeq, Inc

industeq, Nov 17, 2009
  2. industeq

ashleigh Moderator

The Aus Saturn screw mounting dimensions are not quite the same as the USA.

Its close enough that you will likely get away with it (the dimension is about 1 mm or 2mm different from memory (about 1/16th inch or a bit more). You should be able to shove the screws in and it will go.

The Saturn Aus does have a large mounting boss (or did, last I looked) which may cause you some trouble, though. If you made it fit - great.

ashleigh, Nov 17, 2009
  3. industeq

Newman

Part-way through the life of the Saturn switch the mounting boss design was changed. Earlier plastics have a large boss with supporting webs protruding at the rear. Newer plastics are flat on the back. Both the material and design were changed at this time to make them easier to mount.