Rs232 Protocol For C-bus

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by audiovis, Jul 24, 2007.

  1. audiovis

    audiovis

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Where can I get info on the RS232 protocol to control groups from a Crestron system connected to a PCI interface?

    Crestron have, as part of their "Integrated Partner Program" written a module but it has bugs that I need to rectify.

    I understand I must apply for this information somewhere?
     
    audiovis, Jul 24, 2007
    #1
    Nethaji likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. audiovis

    Duncan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salinas de Garci Mendoza, Bolivia
    Duncan, Jul 24, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. audiovis

    Newman

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Newman, Jul 24, 2007
    #3
  4. audiovis

    audiovis

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank You

    I will advise as soon as I have suceeded in fixing the Crestron Dimming control module Bug.
     
    audiovis, Jul 25, 2007
    #4
  5. audiovis

    Htnut

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Why reinvent the wheel. Simon Pollack has completely rewritten the interface and it works very well even with wireless units. His number is 0405 500 777
     
    Htnut, Jul 30, 2007
    #5
  6. audiovis

    TheBear

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    PAC RS-232 to Crestron

    Hello All,

    I've sucssefully installed some systems where integration with a Crestron system was needed. On all of those system I've used the PCI unit.

    I've used the Crestron module (Posted by Crestron and modified for small bugs by me...).

    In a new system I'm trying (yet, unsucssefly...) to use the PAC's rs-232 ports.

    In terms of wiring and pin-out I believe that everything is ok.

    First, do I need to open a port in the PAC unit (PICED) in order to establish systems communication? Is it beter to use a PCI unit for that?

    Second, I've digged into the (public release) C-Bus rs-232 protocol and found out some strange diffrences with the strings sent by the (functioning) Crestron module.
    The crestron module does'nt have any checksum mechanism and the start-up string (for MMI enabling) is totaly different!

    Any Ideas?

    Tnx
     
    TheBear, Aug 3, 2007
    #6
  7. audiovis

    ashleigh Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    The PAC can be used as a PAC or as a PCI (it can flip into PCI mode), but when it's being a PCI you cannot use it as a PAC. Effectively the logic engine part has been disconnected from the PCI part of it.

    As for differences in the strings for your Crestron module: it depends on who did it, and when, and what info they had.

    To the best of my knowledge, Clipsal have not had an official approach from Crestron for adding cbus support, its all been done by volunteers or people solving specific problems. Some of them have had access to the public release protocol document, some have been cbus enabled members (but not sumbitted their driver for certification by Clipsal), and some have tried to reverse engineer / nut it out themselves.

    I suggest your best bet for really good Crestron support is to use some of the suggested contacts here for the various good folk who have already got it sorted out.
     
    ashleigh, Aug 4, 2007
    #7
  8. audiovis

    Phil.H

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Give Simon a call ;)
     
    Phil.H, Aug 4, 2007
    #8
  9. audiovis

    TheBear

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Thanks Ashleigh & Phil,

    I'll add a PCI unit to the system. Now it's clear...
    Basically, with a PCI the module I've modified is working fine (no C-Bus wireless units, No multiple C-Bus network, yet, in my Installations...)
    I'm sure that as my C-bus systems become more and more complicated I'll need Simon's help :)...

    Thanks again.
     
    TheBear, Aug 4, 2007
    #9
  10. audiovis

    Nethaji

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can i get RS232 command format to control through Crestron Processor via rs232
     
    Nethaji, Nov 5, 2019
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.