Repair cbus dimmers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mike, Apr 30, 2010.

1. Mike

Mike

In 2001, I had a new home built and had Cbus2 installed with three 8 channel DIN rail dimmers and one 12 channel relay. I also installed and integrated a Minder box and have been super satisfied with the flexibility and total integration this gave me. However, over the years, I have - apparently randomly - lost three dimmer channels - two on one dimmer and one on another. I have previously been able to reroute loads to keep things working, but the latest loss - apparently due to a new 240v halogen globe that seems to have destroyed the output - has left me beyond the point at which I can continue. To be honest, I really cannot possibly afford - or justify - paying what seems to be an obscene price to replace these two dimmers. I am a fully qualified electronics engineer with many years of experience, and I'd like to know if anyone has ever repaired one of these devices? I saw an old thread which suggested they were 'very difficult' to get "into" for 'regulatory reasons' (?) but is it possible? Does anyone have any diagrams? I also saw a thread that suggested the phase circuit was 'fairly simple' and I'm pretty confident that is where the problem lies. Blown triac, for example? There certainly appears to be nothing wrong with the CBus side of things. I really like my system, and have sung the praises of it to many, many friends - all of whom are terribly impressed! - but I just cannot see how I can justify spending at least a couple of thousand dollars to replace three channels. Does anyone have any comments; diagrams; or even practical tips to assist me? I'd be eternally grateful! (I have also been told that a repair facility is no longer available - and even if it were, what do I do with no lights for two or three weeks.....?).

Thanks - Mike :confused:

Mike, Apr 30, 2010
  2. Mike

Darpa