Reed switches: what do I need to consider?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by P_R, Apr 16, 2018.

  1. P_R

    P_R

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth
    Hi,
    This might be a very simple answer, I am getting a 5102BCLEDL 2 channel bus coupler. What I need is a suitable reed switch to connect to it so that I can use the reed switch to tell me when a door is open. The door has a shutter above it, so I want to disable the shutter from going down if the door is open.

    Aside from how they work, I know nothing about reed switches. Any better than others? Things to consider?

    I am guess the unit will pop up in Toolkit and I just go from there in terms of programming?

    Thank you for any help.

    Cheers,

    P_R.
     
    P_R, Apr 16, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. P_R

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Any reed switch will work with the bus coupler. Just pick the one that is easiest to install for your particular application.

    More importantly, the bus coupler has a lead length limitation of 1 metre per connection, so you will need to locate it near the reed switch.
     
    Ashley, Apr 16, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. P_R

    P_R

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth
    Thank you!
     
    P_R, Apr 16, 2018
    #3
  4. P_R

    bmerrick

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sydney
    bmerrick, Apr 19, 2018
    #4
  5. P_R

    poldim

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I have a Reed switch sensing my garage door position. It's wired with a single pair of cat6 cable because I had an extra spool. Wiring runs about 30 feet along the garage wall. Works great, but ymmv.
     
    poldim, May 1, 2018
    #5
  6. P_R

    P_R

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth
    Well I never considered that, but maybe that's a new project. My garage is not c-bus connected, but that does not stop me monitoring it with a similar switch.
     
    P_R, May 2, 2018
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.