Reading information over network from a Schneider meter?

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wiser 1 Controller' started by poldim, Sep 2, 2012.

  1. poldim

    poldim

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    [​IMG]

    I've got a Schneider Electric Powerlogic PM850 on my house after the PG&E smart meter. Its got two CT's around the two phases going into the panelboard allowing me to see power used in the home in pretty great detail.

    The meter sits on my LAN. Theoretically, one would be able to go into meter and pull information out of the various modbus registers to create various display's and calculations. What would be needed for this?
     
    poldim, Sep 2, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. poldim

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    If you know the protocol used to communicate with the meter, you could write logic code in a Colour C-Touch or Wiser to read data from the meter.
     
    Darren, Sep 3, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. poldim

    Ingo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Africa
    Code:
    PM8ECC Ethernet communications card: 10/100 Base-T UTP port supporting
    ModbusTCP/IP communications. Full-function embedded web server providing
    standard web browser access to meter data, and the ability to email on an
    alarm from the host meter. RS-485/232 port, 2- or 4-wire, Modbus
    (ASCII and RTU) master port providing Ethernet-to-serial line gateway
    functionality. Supports Transparent Ready - Level 1 (TRE) functionality
    I see it's Modbus TCP/IP and also HTTP. I am sure you can do what Darren suggested via the HTTP side of things. There was a recent thread about some Logic and HTTP data retrieval not too long ago.

    Ingo
     
    Ingo, Sep 3, 2012
    #3
  4. poldim

    poldim

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Are there any built in graphing like options for the Wiser? Or any other graphic way to display the data once its read on cbus?
     
    poldim, Sep 4, 2012
    #4
  5. poldim

    Darren Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    The only graphing available is for power meters. Since you are wanting to display power/energy, you are in luck!

    You can do it like this:
    1. Read the power readings from the meter using TCP/IP
    2. Create a measurement application channel for the power data
    3. Add an analogue power meter to your project using the above measurement channel
    4. Add a power meter Widget to your Wiser project
    5. Use logic to put the read power value into the analogue channel (this will also result in it being broadcast onto C-Bus)
     
    Darren, Sep 5, 2012
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.