Question regarding PCI and location within the "physical" world

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by BUSTERCJB, Apr 14, 2020.

1. BUSTERCJB

BUSTERCJB

Dear All,

I am new to CBUS and the forum so I hope I haven't broken any rules in this post.

I have never been actively involved in the CBUS system at my house, but I now want to build an understanding on how to connect to the actual network, difference between the database/project file and network, how to actually program a switch and understand how the "network" stores the data from the project file. I will post these questions and more in the "general" topic area after I do some more reading on the CBUS system as whole. If anyone has some great "starter" documents, please send them my way.

The first dilemma I have is trying to locate the actual PCI for the system. I have the .cbz file (From the original installer) and have put that into CBUS toolkit and can easily view the database. (I am waiting for the current "most up to date" file from the most recent installer). The older project says that there is a 5500PC on the network. Next to one set of relays and dimmers are 2 rj45 ports where the installer used to "plug into" the network. One of the ports used to go to a RJ-45 to RS-232 adaptor to the serial port of a "Minder" system, which we got the new installer to remove. The other port, believe is a direct connection into the C-BUS network, rather than a RJ-45 connection for the 5500PC. I thought that he must've hid the 5500PC so that I couldn't interface with the network myself, using the RJ-45 connectors on the unit. I made my own RJ-45 to RS-232 adaptor to the specifications on the 5500PC datasheet, assuming that he had the same adaptor to interface with his own computer

However, before I plugged it into my computer, I wanted to be sure I wasn't frying my serial port. Between lines 3(-) and 4(+), I got a voltage of around 29 volts, meaning that this couldn't be the right port.