Professional dimmer

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Craig, Jun 24, 2018.

  1. Craig

    Craig

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys.
    Looking at a 12 channel professional dimmer unit
    It has 3 phase imput with single phase output can the be modified to have a single phase input ??
    Thanks
     
    Craig, Jun 24, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Craig

    jboer

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Sydney
    What is the model number of the one you are looking at?
     
    jboer, Jun 24, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Craig

    Craig

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I think it is L5112D16B2
    It does have a 415v input and 240v output
    Just seeing if the power supply can be modified to use a 240v input
     
    Craig, Jun 25, 2018
    #3
  4. Craig

    jboer

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yes if it is one of the older syle you can just common the phases together and put them on a single phase :)

    Dont know about the newer ones.
     
    jboer, Jun 27, 2018
    #4
  5. Craig

    NickD Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Adelaide
    That model is one of the original (non-modular) versions. I wasn't so sure about them so I didn't comment.

    You can do the same on the newer modular ones.

    Nick
     
    NickD, Jun 28, 2018
    #5
  6. Craig

    Craig

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that guys.
     
    Craig, Jun 28, 2018
    #6
  7. Craig

    ashleigh Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Pretty certain the L5112D16B2 (aka rangehood) will allow you to common up the phase inputs. Just don't load it up to the eyeballs as you will need a hellava big power feed. Fairly certain that Internally the PS runs from one of the phases to neutral. Suggest you check carefully though.
     
    ashleigh, Jul 1, 2018
    #7
    Craig likes this.
  8. Craig

    Craig

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that
    I pretty sure that is the right part no is the bigger blue c-bus2 one with 12 breakers on the side.
    Na I won’t be running heaps of amps through it
     
    Craig, Jul 1, 2018
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.