Problem with PCI and Cbus

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by willplaice, Jan 16, 2007.

1. willplaice

willplaice

Hi I'm new to this, but I have cbus connected to CQC, and the CQC driver fails to connect, apparently it is waiting for a stream of MMI commands that are not ever sent,

Apparently "There are 2 types of MMI, the original and extended MMI"

when I look at the logs from the CBus diagnostic Utility apprently I only see "extended MMI"

Is there something in the PCI that I can change what MMI's are sent ?

many thanks for any help, Will

willplaice, Jan 16, 2007
  2. willplaice

Phil.H

Is your C-Bus install a single network ? MMI's are not sent across network bridges...

Phil.H, Jan 16, 2007
  3. willplaice

willplaice

i've had alot of help, currently we think that mmi might not be sent as i only have a single dimmer and the PCI, i have no switches at present...

am getting a switch to confirm this...

willplaice, Jan 16, 2007
  4. willplaice

rhamer

I have been helping Will with this one and here is a bit more information.

His test network currently consists of a PCI and a 4 channel dimmer, nothing else.

The problem is the PCI is not sending MMI messages.

The commands we are using to stimulate the PCI are the same that work on my PCI and my PCI is the same firmware revision as Wills.

The actual commands are those published in the Public Release documentation.

All the responses to the initialisation commands appear correct, although the last command that actually turns on the MMI messages (section 4.2.2) does return a slightly different answer. I don't know the significance of the return differences, as they are just labeled xxxx and yy in the example.

Cheers

Rohan

rhamer, Jan 16, 2007
  5. willplaice

ashleigh Moderator

What you are turning on is the ABILITY for the PCI to see MMIs that are whizzing past on the network.

You need at least one key unit to be on the network for MMIs to be autonomously running.

ashleigh, Jan 16, 2007