PowerTags and The SHAC

Discussion in 'C-Bus Automation Controllers' started by Dalek, Apr 13, 2020.

  1. Dalek

    Dalek

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,


    We have just completed a full house renovation and had C-Bus fitted throughout.


    I am keen to add some form of power monitoring to the house, possibly using the Clipsal PowerTags, but my C-Bus Sparky has no experience with them so I am trying to work out what it is I need.


    Ideally, I would like to have visibility within the SHAC of each circuit I monitor together with measurement of our Solar generation.


    I have read some of the postings by NickD but I am, if you excuse the pun, none the wiser!


    If PowerTags are installed, then I assume I need some sort of interface/concentrator module to collect the data and pass it on. Is this the Wiser Energy IP communication Module (EER72600)? Does this module support Modbus TCP or do I need a version without the cloud service?


    Any advice would be gratefully received.
     
    Dalek, Apr 13, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Dalek

    coppo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide
    PowerTag Gateway "HD Link" or previousy referred to as SID gateway.

    The new gateways , that were released late last year now support back-up and restore and come in
    20 tag A9XMWD20
    100 tag A9XMWD100

    Limits are:
    SHAC on current firmware = 6 modbus devices max ( each of your powertag sensors is seen as a seperate device)
    newer firmware currently in BETA testing will expand that to 10 devices max regardless of Modbus RTU or TCP.

    NAC has no limit cap on modbus TCP devices, so it comes down to CPU loading.
    We've seen a jobs so far with up to 60 powertags on 1 NAC.
    (Struggles a bit on start up, then finds its feet).

    SE has already created a json file supporting these gateways, freely available to SE EcoXperts LRC
    or also loaded to SE Exchange website / Partners Box folder.

    You can do some basic lua script to add them all together to give you a total 'feed' consumption reading.

    Has not been tested with the Module (EER72600) specifically.

    Note that the gateway used for FESB (SE Facilities Expert) is not compatible with the NAC/SHAC

    attached file had to zipped for me to upload it due to the file extension.

    note:
    file will not work in the NAC/SHAC if the file extension is uppercase, must be lower case .xxxx

    you should create your mapping objects on application 250, as it is the only application that supports data not conforming to 0-255 range. ie...you may want negative / <0 >255 / decimal point / etc ...
     

    Attached Files:

    coppo, Apr 29, 2020
    #2
    Dalek likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Dalek

    coppo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide
    script sample for totalling the seperate powertags

    meter1 = GetUserParam('Local', 'Meter 1')
    meter2 = GetUserParam('Local', 'Meter 2')
    meter3 = GetUserParam('Local', 'Meter 3')
    meter4 = GetUserParam('Local', 'Meter 4')
    SetUserParam('Local', 'Total Meter', meter1 + meter2 + meter3 + meter4)

    This requires use of a “keyword” associated to the 4 meters, if any of them change, this “event script” will update the total meter value.
     
    coppo, Apr 30, 2020
    #3
  4. Dalek

    Dalek

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Coppo,

    Thank you for that information and particularly the json file.

    When I have looked up the A9XMWD20, it says that they are "End of Commercialisation", does this mean they are no longer available or supported?
     
    Dalek, Apr 30, 2020
    #4
  5. Dalek

    Hollywoodperth

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Dalek that generally means its no longer sold/supported
     
    Hollywoodperth, May 1, 2020
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.