Pigeons and a need to Flash

Discussion in 'C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software' started by abg, Jul 31, 2014.

  1. abg

    abg

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ok no laughing on this one!

    I have a shed with a colourbond roof. The pigeons have decided they like it a little too much. If I throw something at the roof from inside and it 'bangs' they fly away.

    So...as I have an L5108REL with a few spare channels I bought a 12v solenoid boxed it up and placed it under the roof so when powered up it bangs the roof.

    What I need to do though it have this flash (or pulse) 2-3 or 4 times a second for about 3 seconds (like a ratatat sound). In toolkit it is possible to flash a GA for 0.5 seconds but I can't see a way to do this in logic - the PulseCBusLevel only allows integers so minimum is 1 second.

    Can anyone suggest a nice way to flash/pulse more rapidly?

    The pigeons may not thank you but I will....

    :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 31, 2014
    abg, Jul 31, 2014
    #1
  2. abg

    Roosta

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    I have used logic for all sorts of fun stuff like this..

    Use the delay function which allows a 0.2 second.. Try something like below

    Module

    If Getlightingstate("Pigeon noise maker") = on then
    Begin
    Setlightingstate("Pigeon solenoid", on);
    Delay(0.2);
    Setlightingstate("Pigeon solenoid", off);
    Delay(0.2);
    Setlightingstate("Pigeon solenoid", on);
    Delay(0.2);
    Setlightingstate("Pigeon solenoid", off);
    Delay(0.2);
    Setlightingstate("Pigeon solenoid", on);
    Delay(0.2);
    Setlightingstate("Pigeon solenoid", off);
    Delay(0.2);
    Setlightingstate("Pigeon solenoid", on);
    Delay(0.2);
    Setlightingstate("Pigeon solenoid", off);
    Delay(0.2);
    (Repeat longer if you need too)
    Setlightingstate("Pigeon noise maker", off);
    End

    Then setup a schedule to run and activate the pigeon noise maker group..

    There is also probably an easier other way of achieving this that others will advise on.. ;-)

    Let us know how u go..
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 31, 2014
    Roosta, Jul 31, 2014
    #2
  3. abg

    Ingo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Africa
    To trigger you could have one of those garage door IR safety sensors run across the top of the roof and as soon as Mr. Pigeon sits down to relax he gets the fright of his life.

    PS. I don't know if those are weather or lightning proof though. Also, if Mr. Pigeon poops himself from fright you may need to change your strategy :D
     
    Ingo, Jul 31, 2014
    #3
  4. abg

    Htnut

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    That's funny. A Roosta scaring pigeons. :D
     
    Htnut, Aug 1, 2014
    #4
  5. abg

    abg

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks for the responses. I mistakenly thought 'delay' could only take an integer too so thanks for the update on that.

    Although the solenoid is quite happy to be flashed multiple times a second (manually) it seems that either the relay or the network doesn't like things to go that quickly.

    If I use a Delay of 0.2 the messages seem to get lost or the relay can't cope with them that quickly. The following is ok - but even a change to the delay to 0.5 after the OFF causes some of the toggles to be lost.

    Is there a way to direct a message to a specific unit very quickly rather than broadcast generally across the network AND
    is there any physical limitation on the relay preventing it toggling states (ON/OFF) multiple times a second?

    This is the code at present:

    once GetCBusState(net_JantFar, app_Irrigation, ga_PigeonScareEnable) then
    begin
    SetCBusState(net_JantFar, app_Irrigation, ga_PigeonScare, ON);
    Delay(0.5);
    SetCBusState(net_JantFar, app_Irrigation, ga_PigeonScare, OFF);
    Delay(1.0);
    SetCBusState(net_JantFar, app_Irrigation, ga_PigeonScare, ON);
    Delay(0.5);
    SetCBusState(net_JantFar, app_Irrigation, ga_PigeonScare, OFF);
    Delay(1.0);
    SetCBusState(net_JantFar, app_Irrigation, ga_PigeonScare, ON);
    Delay(0.5);
    SetCBusState(net_JantFar, app_Irrigation, ga_PigeonScare, OFF);
    Delay(1.0);
    SetCBusState(net_JantFar, app_Irrigation, ga_PigeonScare, ON);
    Delay(0.5);
    SetCBusState(net_JantFar, app_Irrigation, ga_PigeonScare, OFF);
    Delay(1.0);
    SetCBusState(net_JantFar, app_Irrigation, ga_PigeonScare, ON);
    Delay(0.5);
    SetCBusState(net_JantFar, app_Irrigation, ga_PigeonScare, OFF);
    Delay(1.0);

    SetCBusState(net_JantFar, app_Irrigation, ga_PigeonScareEnable, OFF);
    end;

    This could be tidied up using a loop - and the GAs are on the Irrigation application as that is what the L5108REL is mainly used for.

    Thanks for the feedback.

    :confused:
     
    abg, Aug 4, 2014
    #5
  6. abg

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cleveland, QLD, Australia
    Hi abg
    L5108RELVP sources its power from the CBus network.
    Bought one recently because I specifically wanted a bus powered relay.

    It does have switching speed limitations though.
    Info is in the manual.
     
    DarylMc, Aug 4, 2014
    #6
  7. abg

    Roosta

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    Hmm thats interesting.. I have used the same code to do a 3min lighting sequence on a job with 2x L5508D1A dimmers (xmas light display) and a spectrum touchscreen and it works a treat.. No missing any commands at all.. This is dedicated to that task though.. Not mixed with any other control..

    Must be a dimmer vs relay thing..
     
    Roosta, Aug 4, 2014
    #7
  8. abg

    DarylMc

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cleveland, QLD, Australia
    Hi Roosta
    The power to switch the relays on the L5108RELVP is sourced from the CBus network not a 240v supply like the other relays.

    It's a handy product if you want to switch low voltages and don't have or want 240v terminals there.
     
    DarylMc, Aug 4, 2014
    #8
  9. abg

    Ingo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Africa
    I had a similar problem trying to pulse a garage door relay between 0.5s and 1s. The symptoms were exactly as mentioned earlier, sometimes the relay would pulse and sometimes not really. The fact that it didn't pulse, which I attribute to the fact that the timing was too short, it just makes an 'attempt' to pulse - like a very short make/break.

    When I increased the pulse width to +-2s then things started to work as expected. My guess is that a Pulse command doesn't work really well when you get to sub-second timings, even a 1s pulse sometimes would pulse for 1.5s or a too short 'glitch'.

    To date I haven't found a Cbus solution, I eventually moved it to my Alarm Panel that could pulse more accurately down to these short intervals.

    Ingo
     
    Ingo, Aug 4, 2014
    #9
  10. abg

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Have you tried just wiring the relay up as a buzzer and just pulsing the power on for a few seconds? Just wire the normally closed contact in series with the coil. It will be more of a vibration by might work just as well.
     
    Ashley, Aug 4, 2014
    #10
  11. abg

    abg

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ashley sorry for being obtuse but can you explain the buzzer bit?

    At the moment I have the -ve from the 12v transformer going directly to one terminal on the solenoid, the +ve to the common on the relay channel and the NO to the other side of the solenoid.

    How does the NC fit into this?
     
    abg, Aug 5, 2014
    #11
  12. abg

    Ashley

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    To turn a relay into a buzzer you need a change-over relay (or just a NC contact which is rare). Connect the normally closed (NC) contact to one side of the solenoid, then apply power (via the CBus relay) between the other side of the solenoid and the common. When you apply power, the solenoid is energized via the NC contact. When the solenoid pulls in it disrupts its own power so the contacts release, which re-close the NC contact, which pulls the solenoid back in etc etc. Depending on the relay it will vibrate around the 100Hz mark all the while power is applied.
     
    Ashley, Aug 5, 2014
    #12
  13. abg

    znelbok

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    17
    Have not seen this before - very interesting.

    To slow it down, you could use a delay make timer so that when power is re-applied, it does not make the contact for x seconds (or fractions of depending on the relay timer values).

    I too have a problem with flying rats (swallows) in my shed and this may ptoentially work for geting them to move out. Sealing the shed up is way too hard to do.
     
    znelbok, Aug 6, 2014
    #13
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.