Philips Pronto RU990

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Roars, Apr 27, 2007.

1. Roars

Roars

Hi guys,

This has probably been covered 100 times before but I have not been able to find a simple beginners guide to using a Philips Pronto on a CBus network.

Basically I have about 15 neo units and 6 PIRs which can all recieve IR commands. I want to use the pronto as a selling tool as I walk around the house with clients,using it to control different scenes and sequences in each room. Is this possible? Where can I find basic set up information to get the remote control going on even one unit to help me learn what it can do?

Sorry If I am repeating previous threads but I am an absolute beginner and will probably need spoon fed!!:confused:

Thanks
    Ruairi

Roars, Apr 27, 2007
  2. Roars

paulw11

Hi,

The best place to start is Remote Central. Here you will be able to obtain the various IR codes that you need to emulate the clipsal remotes.

The IR codes for the CBus components simply simulate pressing buttons on a key unit. In the case of a NEO, the IR codes do the same thing as pressing the key on the unit itself. The other IR receivers have "virtual keys" that you programming using the toolkit.

There are several different "banks" of IR codes that you can use in case more than one receiver is installed in a particular location - using the toolkit you can program which bank "A-C" a particular unit responds to.

In terms of using the Pronto for your demo, I would set up a different screen for each room. You can then set up buttons on that panel to reflect the scenes/lights you have configured on the switch in that room.