Pac 232c

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Yoshi, Sep 20, 2012.

  1. Yoshi

    Yoshi

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need help for 232C function of PAC unit.

    I made below simple logic in PICED.
    I tested it on simulation mode in PC, Spectrum unit and PAC unit.
    I was able to get 'X' character in the target unit testing simulation mode and spectrum.
    But I cannot get 'X' character testing PAC unit.

    I made a connection cable using pink C-Bus LAN cable.
    PIN No.4 GND (blue)
    PIN No.5 RD (blue/white)
    PIN No.6 TD (orange)
    PIN 1-3,7,8 no connection

    I did not add 12V DC and 24V AC power.

    Please give me advice.
    Should I add 24V AC power to PAC?
    Did i make wrong cable?

    Regards,
    ---------------------------------------------

    {Enter Variable definitions here}
    get_temp_c : string;

    {Enter Initialisation code here}
    TimerStart(Timer1);


    Get_Temp_DT
    once TimerTime(Timer1) >= 2 then
    begin
    OpenSerial(1, 1, 9600, 8, 1,0, 0);
    get_temp_c := 'X';
    WriteSerial(1, get_temp_c);
    CloseSerial(1);
    TimerStart(Timer1);
    end;
     
    Yoshi, Sep 20, 2012
    #1
  2. Yoshi

    TimB C-Bus Systems Engineer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    You need to supply external power to the PAC in order to use the RS232 ports. Either have the device you are communicating with supply power by pulling the DTR and RTS lines (pins 3 and 8) one high and one low, or connect a 24 Vac supply. Full details are in the installation instructions.
     
    TimB, Sep 20, 2012
    #2
  3. Yoshi

    Yoshi

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi TimB,

    Thank you very much for your advice.
    This is my understanding for your email.

    PAC's 232C driver IC is working by C-Bus power.
    But PAC does not make 232C interface driving power.
    So, PAC needs external power for it.

    Is my understanding correct?

    I have a question.
    Is programming cable for old B&W touch panel useful for PAC connection?

    Regards,
     
    Yoshi, Sep 20, 2012
    #3
  4. Yoshi

    TimB C-Bus Systems Engineer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Yes, the PAC serial connections and B&W C-Touch programming cable use the same pinouts.
     
    TimB, Sep 20, 2012
    #4
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.