OWNERSHIP of Clipsal file.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mike.s.rose, Feb 13, 2017.

1. Mike.s.rose

Mike.s.rose

Hi all I am new to this & am an end user, I built my own home a few years back & have clipsal controlling all lighting & heating. When first programmed it was done as a temporary measure until I had the funds to expand the system & once I had a better idea how I wanted everything to look & work.

I think my question is simple, do I have the right to request the file from the company who installed it for either myself to work with or a different engineer? Surely I own it as I paid for all the hardware & engineers costs.

Also I had seen a post on here explaining the possibility the file exists within the system or a touch screen? I have a black & white touch screen, should a good engineer be able to extract it, I believe he called it a project file?

I am not totally against going back to the orig engineers however they have annoyed me slightly as I recently requested the file so I could keep a back up of it & they told me clipsal don't like us handing out the files..... I think they are just protecting there interests.....

Can anyone spread any light on this as surely I should own the file & should be able to have it if I request it?

Mike.s.rose, Feb 13, 2017
  2. Mike.s.rose

NickD Moderator

I'm not aware of any policy on the Clipsal side that frowns upon the integrator providing the files, so that certainly sounds like an excuse to me.

The commissioning software is all freely available for download, and you should be able to extract the project file from the touchscreen, however not ALL of the information is always there. If you dowonload PICED and search in the help under "project file" there is a topis called "Transferring a C-Touch Project from the Unit" that goes into all the details.