Noob question on detecting a wireless dimmer

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wireless Hardware' started by rossn, Aug 2, 2009.

1. rossn

rossn

Hi there,

I'm very new to the world of C-Bus!

I purchased the following equipment about a year ago, and it's taken me this long to get to installing it.

5500PS - Power Supply
    5884D1L2AA,GF - C-Bus Wireless 4 Button 2 Channel Leading Edge 1A Dimmer
    5800WCGA - C-Bus Wireless Gateway
    5500PC - RS232 C-Bus PC Interface

I installed the wireless dimmer 2 weeks ago - I didn't do much with it, but I checked that I can turn the 2 banks of lights on & off without any issue.

On Saturday I finally got around to wiring up the rest of the equipment. I have it set up in a clipsal box in an equipment cupboard about 5-6 metres from the dimmer location. I connected the PC Interface to my PC via a free serial port, downloaded the latest CBus toolkit, found my equipment on the network, but for some reason I can't see the dimmer itself. The only items the toolkit can find are the PC Interface and the Wireless Gateway.

Is this likely to be a configuration issue, or is there something further I need to do to "pick up" the dimmer, or do I have a problem?

Any info you can provide is appreciated!

Cheers
    Ross

rossn, Aug 2, 2009
  2. rossn

Newman

Before you can communicate with the wireless devices you need to create a wireless network between your Wireless Gateway and the Wireless Dimmer. This is necessary because communication between devices is encrypted. If this step wasn't done, anyone could re-program and control your devices.

To do this:
    1) Press the button on the bottom of the Gateway.
    2) Then enter Learn Mode on the Dimmer by pressing and holding the top two buttons at the same time, for ~10 seconds, until the LEDs flash fast, then release the buttons.