Newbies who haven"t done courses

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by exsolter, Feb 28, 2010.

1. exsolter

exsolter

Newbies who haven"t done courses

I have been doing CBUS for MANY YEARS and had a friend advise me that there are people on this FORUM using it to get info on HOW TO PROGRAM the sites (that others have programmed) they have picked up but not passing onto people have have the experience in doing the job properly!!!!

This person has basically said some people don't know how to program.

I'm starting to really HATE these NEWBIES coming into the feild that many of US are trying to keep clean in doing good work and keeping CLIPSAL GOING in this game and US IN WORK!!!

It should be expressed to all people that they should do the course before picking up JOBS, otherwise hand them over to people who have done the courses and have the experience to do the WORK

Thanks
    ________
    TL1000S

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 26, 2011
    exsolter, Feb 28, 2010
  2. exsolter

mmd

Doing the courses is a good start, but if I was to list the number of sparkies who I have worked with who have done the course and consequently stuffed up very important and basic components of the job I would likely run out of the character limit for messages.

You need real world practical experience that a course doesn't give you, of course you have to start somewhere, but a 400 square home is not the place to start.

This is mostly clipsals own fault however as they cheerfully supply equipment to anyone and everyone (building your own house, here have the stuff cheaper than an integrator and can get it and then they can fix it up for you when it doesn't work).

They also have a very bad habit of bending over backwards to help anyone who has stuffed up lest people think clipsal is at fault.

Approved installer programs and point one etc are a step in the right direction, but the reality is anyone can still install the stuff and bugger it up.