Newbie with a few questions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by psionic001, Aug 21, 2017.

1. psionic001

psionic001

Hi,
    first post and I hope my questions are not too silly.

I've purchased a house that has Clipsal CBus2 throughout for lighting as on/off relays and Dimmer relays. And it also has a 5000ct b&w touch screen that has been setup with a few scenes and schedules. The system is dated at 2006.

Ideally I'd like to throw out the touch interface and put a modern screen there that can display scenes, control the lights, display weather information, and allow me to add new functionality like audio intergration or apple HomeKit if I wish.

I'm not an electrician, but I'm a capable DIY learner, so I had these questions:

1. Is there a do-all device that's modern and can replace the b&w touch screen I have, with say a 7-12" colour screen that the family can use. Can I use an iPad instead?

2. Where's the best place to get some high level formative knowledge about how my cbus system is built, and how I would extend and develop it.

3. Is there an app I can use to plug into my existing circa 2006 system and see how they have programmed it, and maybe learn from that start point.

4. Can I use a mac to interface with this old 2006 system via say parallels?

I have a ton of other questions but I think these are the main guidance I need.

So sorry if they are above high level knowledge, but I love the idea of building and developing my own modern smart home so I thought I'd be able to get some guidance here.

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2017
    psionic001, Aug 21, 2017
  2. psionic001

DarylMc

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2017
    DarylMc, Aug 21, 2017
  3. psionic001

NickD Moderator

Hi, and Welcome.

As DarylMc said, the new Smart Home Automation Controller ("SHAC"), or a Wiser2.