newbie help-logic code

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by micelisun, Dec 20, 2008.

1. micelisun

micelisun

I have zero experience in writing serial commands and have a problem. Need to simulate a button press in a Lutron processor from a DLT. Basically if anyone could save me some time and headache by posting an example it would be greatly appreciated.

micelisun, Dec 20, 2008
  2. micelisun

NickD Moderator

I doubt many people here will have any experience with Lutron processors, given C-Bus is relatively new in the US market.

If you can post some details about the Lutron serial protocol here we may be able to get you started.

Nick

NickD, Dec 21, 2008
  3. micelisun

micelisun

here are the parameters: 9600 baud, 8 data bits, 1 stop bit, no parity, no xon/xoff. Lutron receives in hex or ascii. I am simply trying to simulate a button press in the lutron processor from a DLT. Might be dumb question but would I need a null modem? Lutron is a DCE. Any help would be greatly appreciated, I was talked into using clipsal on a rather large project and still need to control the lutron sivoia shades.
    Thanks

micelisun, Dec 26, 2008
  4. micelisun

Lucky555

As in all cases go to the PICED Help files for info - I don't think I have seen a better help file.

Before you get off and running you will have to get the basics right.

If you are using a PAC unit you will have to power it via a 16-24V AC - the CTC is unit powered.

No matter how much I tried (some time ago now) I could not tie down the DCE / DTE thing with PAC. Have a couple of serial cables (pins 2, 3 & 5) handy plus some changeovers. If you are testing using a PC and Hyper terminal to your Lutron unit don't be surprised if one cable works for the PC and another arrangement works with the PAC.

Once you have the electrical connections sorted you need to write logic code to get the serial comms happening.