New to C-Bus

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jaden66, Nov 7, 2019.

1. Jaden66

Jaden66

Hi,
    I am building a new home and I am going to install C-Bus. The electricians try and steer me away from it with these new WiFi/Blu-tooth fixtures, but as an engineer I keep coming back to C-Bus for its shear flexibility. Anyway....

I am looking at gradually buying the bits. First question. I am in Australia and the C-Bus Multi-Sensor is Part # 5753PEIRL . On eBay there are some for sale in the US that are SLC5753PEIRL and Clipsal SquareD. I can not find what SquareD is and if it will be OK in my Australian C-Bus system.

Thanks

Jaden66, Nov 7, 2019
  2. Jaden66

Wonkey

Clipsal and SquareD are all brands owned by Schneider Electric and the above parts are the same.
    However the relay and dimmers are not, the USA runs on 110v 60Hz.

Wonkey, Nov 7, 2019
  3. Jaden66

Jaden66

Great. Thanks Wonkey.

Jaden66, Nov 7, 2019
  4. Jaden66

Conformist

Jaden, where are you located? Stand your ground and stick with a proven system. There an so many new wireless products hitting the market. As an electrician, I roll my eyes (internally) every time I hear the promises of 'the system that's going to change things'. In reality, most will die off. There is plenty of knowledge here on this forum and you won't be disappointed with your decision.

Conformist, Nov 7, 2019
  5. Jaden66

Jaden66

Hi Conformist,
    I am in Coffs Harbour. I have also been told that Control4 is the way to go. The local electrical wholesaler tried to convince me that some of the Blu-tooth systems were 'easier' but lacked this or that and C-Bus was an old system! Yeah it is an old system but that is a good thing. It is still going , and like you said, the others will die off. I have started to buy items on eBay for my house build. So every road seems to lead to C-Bus. I am also integrating it with an M! NESS security system. Happy Days.

Jaden66, Nov 7, 2019
    Conformist likes this.