Network Retries setting

Discussion in 'C-Bus OPC Server Software' started by filpee, Aug 29, 2014.

  1. filpee

    filpee

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Hey all,

    I have the following in my c-gateconfig.txt file

    Code:
    #### network.retries:
    # Number of times commands are retried before the command is deemed to have failed
    # Default Value: 2
    # Scope:         network
    # Effective on:  closeopen
    ###
    network.retries=15
    
    #### network.retries.pci-check:
    # PCI Checking begins at this number of retries
    # Default Value: 1
    # Scope:         network
    # Effective on:  closeopen
    ###
    network.retries.pci-check=1
    yet when i have a look at my logs i can see

    Code:
    command timed out: \463B002101  after 6000ms, beginning retry 2 of 2
    Checking PCI before retrying command (\463B002101 )
    Debug: Polling PCI, objectState=3, syncState=syncing
    command timed out: \46F5001A2001  after 2000ms, retry limit of 0 reached
    CBusSender waiting for flow control.  txEnabled=false serialInputBytes=0
    command timed out: \05FF00FAFF00  after 6000ms, beginning retry 1 of 2
    Checking PCI before retrying command (\05FF00FAFF00 )
    command timed out: \463B002101  after 6000ms, retry limit of 2 reached
    command-fail-count=1 unit=59 reason=no response (\463B002101)
    Net Sync: address=59 error reading type and version
    Restarting stuck transmitter
    I know 15 is overkill but I'm wondering why cgate is only retrying twice?

    some info cut/pasted from the log file after a restart
    Code:
    803 cmd3 - Host:127.0.0.1/127.0.0.1 opened command interface from port: 2325
    800 cgate - C-Gate started.
    807 cgate - Logback logging active.  Destination='logs/event.txt'. Size=50000000 bytes. History=7 days.
    899 sys Debug: New Command Context: cc001 = AccessContext Session console#4
    899 sys Debug: New Command Context: cc002 = AccessContext Session 127.0.0.1/127.0.0.1#4
    766 cmd3 - Response: 201 Service ready: Clipsal C-Gate Version: v2.10.0 (build 3087) #cmd-syntax=1.0
    761 cmd3 - Command: &4[2]get cgate version
    766 cmd3 - Response: [2] 300 cgate: version=v2.10.0 (build 3087)
    300 sys dump cgate: DatabaseVersion=2.3
    300 sys dump cgate: EventLevel=9
    300 sys dump cgate: IPAddress=192.168.0.20
    300 sys dump cgate: IsPrerelease=no
    300 sys dump cgate: JavaArguments=[-Xms32M, -Xmx1024M]
    300 sys dump cgate: LogFreeSpace=121849756 kBytes
    300 sys dump cgate: MemoryFree=29427024
    300 sys dump cgate: MemoryMaximum=1037959168
    300 sys dump cgate: MemoryTotal=32440320
    300 sys dump cgate: MemoryUsed=3013296
    300 sys dump cgate: ProjectFreeSpace=121849756 kBytes
    300 sys dump cgate: ServerMode=no
    300 sys dump cgate: State=new
    300 sys dump cgate: Threads=23
    300 sys dump cgate: Version=v2.10.0 (build 3087)
    300 sys dump config: network.application-connect=yes
    300 sys dump config: network.auto-phantom-bridge=yes
    300 sys dump config: network.bridge.mmi-failure-ceiling=10
    300 sys dump config: network.bridge.mmi-fallback-delay=1000
    300 sys dump config: network.error.commands-failed=3
    300 sys dump config: network.error.units-failed=3
    300 sys dump config: network.error.units-failed-hysteresis=0
    300 sys dump config: network.pci.poll-interval=0
    300 sys dump config: network.retries=15
    300 sys dump config: network.retries.pci-check=1
    300 sys dump config: network.source=db
    300 sys dump config: network.state-interval=0
    300 sys dump config: networks-file=networks.txt
    
     
    filpee, Aug 29, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. filpee

    daniel C-Busser Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Adelaide
    There are a few isolated scenarios where the retries number is hardcoded but I would expect that most of the commands sent by C-Gate should be following this property.

    Thanks for reporting this, I've logged this ticket: CG-1646

    We have found in practice however there is not much benefit in more than 3 attempts (2 retries) - this points to a network health issue. Setting more retries just creates more traffic and makes the situation worse.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 1, 2014
    daniel, Sep 1, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. filpee

    filpee

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Thanks Daniel :)
     
    filpee, Sep 1, 2014
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.