Matrix switcher internal power supply

Discussion in 'Multi-Room Audio (MRA) and MARPA' started by dsamson, Jan 26, 2015.

  1. dsamson

    dsamson

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hi,
    I am trying to repair an old Matrix switcher. Is the old one with no radio. The internal power supply is dead. Does anybody know what the output voltage of that power supply supposed to be? Are the power supply modules available as spare parts?
    Thank you.
     
    dsamson, Jan 26, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dsamson

    Roosta

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi,

    I doubt they're available as a spare part, however you may get lucky and find someone who is a bit of a hoarder and keeps broken things in their workshop.. ;)

    Are you sure its just the psu that has failed and not something further up circuit in the control board, which is likely to just blow another supply?

    Cheers..
     
    Roosta, Jan 27, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dsamson

    dsamson

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hi I am positive. I have a lot of experience with component level repairs. The PSU is completely dead. I can use a lab PSU to test the main board but I need to know what voltage the dead PSU supposed to provide.
     
    dsamson, Jan 27, 2015
    #3
  4. dsamson

    Matthew

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide
    It's not the C-Bus power supply you are talking about are you?
    The early units literally had a part # 5500PS installed under the cover from memory.
    If that is the case then yes you can easily buy a replacement, the output is ~32V Dc, as per C-Bus specs.
     
    Matthew, Jan 28, 2015
    #4
  5. dsamson

    dsamson

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney
    No, I'm not talking about the C-Bus power supply. That one is OK. I am talking about the main one, switch mode, open framed, located on the left side of the unit, looking from the back. It has the mains socket at one end and several black and red wires at the other end.
    C'mon Clipsal people, tell me the magic number! Is it 12V, 24V?
     
    dsamson, Jan 28, 2015
    #5
  6. dsamson

    ashleigh Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,367
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Long time ago now (ex Clipsal) and I wish I could remember. I'd tell you if I could. It was not my product though. Hopefully somebody involved in it will browse by sooner or later and answer you.
     
    ashleigh, Jan 28, 2015
    #6
  7. dsamson

    tomsenior9999

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth

    Its 27Volt
    i fixed mine with this mate. You can get 27V out if you want.

    http://www.jaycar.com.au/Power-Prod...Power-Supply-100-Watt-Open-Frame-24V/p/MP3179
     
    tomsenior9999, Oct 23, 2015
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.