Mark II I B&W replacement screen

Discussion in 'C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software' started by CABrouwes, Jun 23, 2015.

  1. CABrouwes

    CABrouwes

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York Area
    The touch screen of my Mark II I B&W is acting up and I would like to replace it. I see that the model is Hitachi SP12Q01L0ALZA.
    • Any idea where to find that model or knows of a compatible one ?
    • The model seems now superseded by later models. Would any have the specs of the original model so that I can check compatibility (I can't find them online).
    • All Hitachi documentation of the SP12Q lin I found online mentions the model does not have a touch sensitive open .. how is it possible ?
     
    CABrouwes, Jun 23, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. CABrouwes

    rhamer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I don't know about these screens in particular, but the screen and overlay are often completely seperate parts.

    I have bought touch overlays from eBay a few times with success.

    Again it depends on the type, but they feel like resistive overlays so you just need to get one the right size and with the right number of wires (usually 4 or 5)

    Search eBay for touch screen overlay.

    Cheers

    Rohan
     
    rhamer, Jun 24, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. CABrouwes

    CABrouwes

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York Area
    this is extremely helpful and explains why the LCD specs don't include the touch feature.
     
    CABrouwes, Jun 24, 2015
    #3
  4. CABrouwes

    CABrouwes

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York Area
    Thanks a again for your insight. It took me a few weeks but I managed to fix the touchpanel. All the 4'7" touchscreen I could find had a lanscape orientation while the Mark II touchscreen is actually a portrait one. It is rotated 90 degree but it is wired for potrait screen. I had to build an adapted to reroute the outputs so that up would be up, right on the right, ... Also the original touchscreen is glued to the LCD and impossible to remove so I had to put the new one on top of it. Fortunatly the gap with the bezel was wide enough to accomodate this extra layer. All is workign well now.

    Btw, I could not find any model of LCD that is more or less compatible with the original one. The Mark II electronic is very old and screens that are sold now have very different imputs.
     
    CABrouwes, Jul 31, 2015
    #4
  5. CABrouwes

    jboer

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ahh very interesting, thank you for the followup post!
     
    jboer, Aug 2, 2015
    #5
  6. CABrouwes

    l60mcm

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Hi sorry for resurrecting an old thread I have an Mark II B&W with a faulty touch panel I was wondering if this one would be compatible with mine this number matches but the rest ate slightly off sp12q01l0alza

    1 (1).jpeg 1 (2).jpeg 1 (3).jpeg 1 (4).jpeg
     
    l60mcm, Jan 7, 2019
    #6
  7. CABrouwes

    Trevor

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, Clipsal still repair these, I work for Arbor Australia, we are the authorised repairer for the C-Touch Color CTC 1, 2 & 3, units, I have had several customers send me the B/W Spectrum units, but only Clipsal is authorised to do these. I have forwarded 3 there late last year for repairs, they had faulty LCD's or Touch screens.
    Let me know how you get on.
     
    Trevor, Jan 8, 2019
    #7
  8. CABrouwes

    l60mcm

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Hi thanks very much for the reply the only issue I have with that is I live in Ireland and the shipping both ways ontop of the repair would be cost prohibitive. If I could get hold of the correct parts I could do the repairs (replacement) myself
     
    l60mcm, Jan 8, 2019
    #8
  9. CABrouwes

    Trevor

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    I understand, but you may want to first investigate the shipping and repair costs, another guy from the UK was on this forum and he was happy to send his Spectrum unit for repair. It may be cheaper than you think. I'm not sure if Clipsal can still get replacment touch panels or is just depleating its remaining stock, perhaps they might sell just the parts or tell you were to get them, maybe a long shot but worth a try.
    Regards
    Trevor
     
    Trevor, Jan 8, 2019
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.